Supply Chain Management

Supply Chain Management

Welcome to the subject homepage for SVQs in Supply Chain Management.

SQA offers Supply Chain Management at Level 2, 3, 4 and 5. These awards have been developed from the standards produced by the Sector Skills Council.

On this subject homepage, you will find information relating to the structure of each award and support materials.


News and Announcements

SQA currently offers a suite of SVQs in Supply Chain Management at four different levels:

These awards have been extended until 31 December 2014.

Supply Chain Management (SCM) is about managing the flow of information, materials, services and money across any activity, in a way which maximises the effectiveness of the process.

The SVQs in Supply Chain Management are intended for people in the Supply Chain, be it large or small.

If you think these SVQs would be of interest to you please contact Hannah Fleming at for further details. The Assessment Guidance is available in two parts, (please click on the assessors guidance tab under  below). Part One relates to Assessment Guidance and Assessor's Guidelines for the Mandatory Units. Part two relates to Assessment Guidance for the Optional Units.

Alternatively if you would like any further information about the SVQs in Supply Chain Management please do not hesitate to contact Hannah at the e-mail address given above.

SVQ in Procurement

The SVQ 3 Procurement SCQF level 6 has been successfully accredited from 02.04.2014 - 30.04.2019 and centres can now come forward to seek approval to offer the SVQ. It is intended that the SVQ will form part of a new Modern Apprenticeship in Procurement. A new web page is being developed for the SVQ 3 Procurement SCQF level 6 and will become 'live' soon.



National Progression Awards (NPAs)

There are currently two NPAs in the Supply Chain and Logistics sector:

More information can be found at NQGA Supply Chain/Logistics and Transport


Qualification content and delivery tools

Information about the qualification(s)

National Occupational Standards

Unit information for this qualification is available on our Accredited Qualification Unit Search.

Internal Assessment Reports

Information about delivery, assessment, quality assurance, and support material

Assessment Guidance

Assessors Guidelines

Supply Chain Management - Part One: Mandatory Units

Level: 2, 3, 4 & 5
Publication: DB3450
Edition: 3 (April 2011)
Downloads: Supply Chain Management levels 2, 3, 4 & 5 (582 KB)

Supply Chain Management - Part Two: Optional Units

Level: 2, 3, 4 & 5
Publication: DB4703
Edition: 2 (April 2011)
Downloads: Supply Chain Management levels 2, 3, 4 & 5 (989 KB)

Internal Assessment Reports

Modern Apprenticeship

These Awards are also part of the Modern Apprenticeship in Supply Chain Management L4

Useful links

mappIT logo Skills Development Logo