SCQF - Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework

This section lists publications which contain general information about the Scottish Qualifications Authority, its qualifications and services.  Some are aimed at a wide audience and some at particular groups of people - like employers, schools, colleges or other training providers.

Due to the size of this section, we have split it into four areas to keep it easy to navigate:

SCQF - Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework

The Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF) is a new way of understanding qualifications in Scotland.  Its main purpose is to make the relationships between qualifications clearer.  This, in turn, will make progression and transfer between qualifications easier.

The framework describes all Scottish qualifications in terms of their level and credit value:

Further information and publications are available to download from the SCQF website: If you would like further information about the SCQF, please contact SQA's Business Development & Customer Support Team by e-mailing:

To order any of the publications listed, contact SQA's Business Development & Customer Support Team quoting the publication code (unless otherwise indicated) or print, complete and return our Order Form (414 KB).  You can order any of our publications by credit card, Delta or by Switch.

Business Development & Customer Support Team
Scottish Qualifications Authority
The Optima Building
58 Robertson Street
G2 8DQ

Tel: 0303 333 0330
Fax: 0345 213 5000

We accept payment with the following cards:

LOGO: Visa Mastercard Delta and Switch cards.

Publications Feedback

We are very keen to receive your views on how useful SQA's publications are to you in offering our qualifications. If you have comments on a document, or more general points about our publications, please note them down on our Publication Feedback form.