Scottish Vocational Qualifications (SVQs)

GRAPHIC: Induction Guide for Centre Staff logo.

Scottish Vocational Qualifications (SVQs)

Scottish Vocational Qualifications are based on standards of competence that describe a candidate's ability to work in real conditions - having an SVQ is a confirmation that you are competent to the standards on which the SVQ is based.  The standards of competence are developed by Sector Skills Councils on behalf of industry.

SVQs are not training courses (though they can be used as the basis for a training framework).  SVQs are designed to improve people's skills by recognising the job-related skills and knowledge people need in work.  SVQs:

There are five SVQ levels:

Level 1 - basic, routine and repetitive work skills
Level 2 - broad range of skills including non-routine activities and individual responsibility
Level 3 - supervisory skills
Level 4 - management skills
Level 5 - senior management skills

SQA currently offers approximately 650 SVQs.  An information sheet for each SVQ is available on the SVQ pages of this website.

In other parts of the UK, vocational qualifications are developed, accredited and awarded by different bodies.  In Scotland, SQA has a unique role, in that it carries out all three functions.  Acting as an awarding body for an SVQ involves ensuring that quality of the qualification is upheld, so that it is credible and has value, as well as issuing certificates.  SQA often does this in partnership with industry bodies which have a similar role.

GRAPHIC: Lightbulb Icon. Recommended reading/further information

To order copies of these publications, please contact SQA's Business Development & Customer Support Team by e-mail:, or telephone: 0303 333 0330.