Star Awards 2011

The 2011 Star Awards Ceremony was held on Friday 4 November at Anniesland College, Glasgow.  Hosted by TV and Radio personality Kaye Adams, the glittering evening rewarded and recognised inspirational achievements and commitment from individuals, schools, colleges and training organisations across Scotland.  Our theme this year was ‘Skills’ and our guests were taken on a dynamic and emotional journey during the Ceremony with lots of inspiring and jaw dropping performances.

The highest award of SQA – The Fellowship – was conferred on Jennifer di Folco, a remarkable and inspirational woman who has made a huge contribution to education and training in her career.


Each year, SQA celebrates the success and commitment demonstrated by individuals, schools, colleges, training providers and businesses.

In addition to the range of Awards presented on the evening, SQA’s Pride o’Worth Awards are given to one individual and one centre who have demonstrated outstanding achievement over the course of the year.

This year's Pride o'Worth winners were John O'Hara, winner of the Skills Competitor of the Year Award and Langside College and Scottish Institute for Residential Child Care, winners of the Partnership of the Year Award.



We were delighted to welcome Xianglong Chen and Pinpin Lv from China, winners of this year's Inspiring Scotland and Contemporary China competitions.




Click on the links below to see the winners and who was highly commended.

The Entertainment



Thanks to all of our entertainment on the evening.

This was provided by students from the High School of Glasgow - Alasdair Campbell-Birkett, saxophone and Davina Pittock, soprano.

The BA Honours Course from Edinburgh's Telford College gave a dance performance. The performers were: Joanne Allison, Kirsten Gillies, Laura Birnie, Christina Duncan, Michelle Ferguson, Kaitlin Forsyth, Nicole Green, Lara Hardman, Julie Kendrew, Amy Robinson, Susan Vance, Julie McNally, Natalie Murray and Parrysar Tavakoli.

We were also delighted to welcome the graduating class from HND 2nd Year Musical Theatre from Coatbridge College.

We are hugely grateful to all our sponsors who supported the star awards 2011.