Qualifications for Assessors and Verifiers

Learning and Development image.SQA qualifications for Assessors and Verifiers consist of individual SVQ Units and workplace Professional Development Awards (PDAs), available at SCQF levels 8 and 9. Centres can register candidates for either an SVQ Unit or the corresponding PDA. SQA is also accredited by Ofqual to offer a range of qualifications in Assessment and Quality Assurance comprising QCF Units.

SQA support materials are available from the SQA secure site via centre's SQA Co-ordinators. These include the Standards with assessment guidance and evidence requirements; CPD Toolkit and Templates; and a range of other support and guidance materials.

If you require further information on any aspect of the new awards or any approval issues, please contact SQA’s Business Development Team via email at mycentre@sqa.org.uk or by telephone on 0303 333 0330.


Why deliver this qualification

The SVQ Units for assessors and verifiers mirror the National Occupational Standards (NOS).  These standards have been developed by LLUK (Lifelong Learning UK) to meet the occupational requirements of workplace assessors and internal verifiers across the UK. The SVQ Units mirror these requirements.

These standards for assessors and internal verifiers are the benchmark qualifications for assessors and internal verifiers across all occupational areas and ensure consistency in the application of quality assurance in the workplace.

Who does this qualification suit

These qualifications are for all workplace assessors and internal verifiers of regulated qualifications such as SVQs in all occupational sectors.

For further information please visit:


 SQA Approval Guidance for SCQF Workplace and non-workplace Assessor and Verifier qualifications and SVQs in Learning and Development (377 KB)

Qualification content and delivery tools

Information about the qualification(s)

National Occupational Standards

Unit information for this qualification is available on our Accredited Qualification Unit Search.

Current Assessor/Verifier Units

Standard Unit code Unit SCQF Level SCQF Credit Group Award code
L&D9D FD40 04 Assess Workplace Competence Using Direct Methods (92 KB) 7 8 GA28 47
L&D9DI FD41 04 Assess Workplace Competence Using Direct and Indirect Methods (99 KB) 8 10 GA2E 48
L&D11 FD43 04 Internally Monitor and Maintain the Quality of Workplace Assessment (92 KB) 8 12 GA2F 48
L&D12 FD44 04 Externally Monitor and Maintain the Quality of Workplace Assessment (90 KB) 9 12 GA2G 49

Lapsing A & V Units and associated materials

The Units and Awards for Assessors and Verifiers comprising the A1, A2 and V1 Units lapsed on 31 December 2010 — candidates will have until 31 December 2014 to become certificated. The Awards have been revised in line with the new SVQ Units for Assessors and Verifiers. Details of revised and lapsing Assessor and Verifier Units can be accessed below.

Support Materials

Candidate Log Books

Working in line with the A and V Units

Assessing Non-SVQs (in order to achieve the A and V Units)


Lapsing PDAs

The following PDAs are now lapsing:

  • Assessing Candidates Using a Range of Methods (SCQF level 7);
  • Conduct Internal Quality Assurance of the Assessment Process (SCQF level 7);
  • Assessing Candidates Through Observation (SCQF level 6);
  • Conducting External Quality Assurance of the Assessment Process (SCQF level 7);
  • Certificate in Delivering Training in the Workplace (SCQF level 7);
  • Certificate in Supporting Learning in the Workplace (SCQF level 7).