National Qualifications Outline

CfE Classroom teacher and pupils

We have designed and developed National Qualifications which support Curriculum for Excellence (CfE) - the 3 to 18 curriculum in Scotland. Our National 1 to Advanced Higher qualifications are being taught in schools and colleges across Scotland and aim to help young people develop the skills, knowledge and understanding they will need to succeed in the 21st century.

The National Qualifications

The table shows how the current National Qualifications replace the previous National Qualifications you may already be familiar with.

SCQF Level Current National Qualification Replaces Previous National Qualification
1 National 1 > Access 1
2 National 2 > Access 2
3 National 3 > Access 3
Standard Grade (Foundation level)
4 National 4 > Standard Grade (General level)
Intermediate 1
5 National 5 > Standard Grade (Credit level)
Intermediate 2
6 Higher (new) > Higher
7 Advanced Higher (new) > Advanced Higher

We have also developed a range of Wider Achievement Awards which are shorter than National Courses and recognise success across different levels of difficulty, meaning they are suitable for learners of all abilities. More information can be found on our Awards page.

National Qualifications and the SCQF

All of the current National Qualifications have been benchmarked against the previous National Qualifications on the Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF). This ensures that they are set at the same level of demand and difficulty as their predecessors, and that national standards are maintained.


Qualification content and delivery tools

The documents on this page are for teachers and lecturers.

Learners studying this qualification may also find the documents useful.

The 'Related information' panel on this page contains information that applies to all new National Qualifications in this subject.