NPA in Health and Social Care: Promoting Reablement

NPA in Health and Social Care: Promoting Reablement

The NPA in Health and Social Care: Promoting Reablement at SCQF level 6 (Group Award Code: GG0G 46) helps individuals gain the knowledge, skills and values that are consistent with the registration criteria of the Scottish Social Services Council.

The award is a combination of theory and practical activities. Learners (under supervision) work with individuals to help improve their daily living.

This is a nationally recognised qualification that will equip successful candidates for a range of jobs in the health and social care sector.

Why deliver this qualification

National Progression Awards (NPAs) assess a defined set of skills and knowledge in specialist vocational areas, linked to National Occupational Standards. The NPA in Health and Social Care: Promoting Reablement at SCQF level 6 offers current, fit for purpose, learning that is straightforward for centres to adopt and for learners to study. New skills can be gained quickly and cost effectively.

The framework of mandatory and optional Units enables centres to tailor their offer to meet local needs. The size of the Units also supports flexibility.

The NPA could be offered in one of the following modes:

  • full-time
  • part-time
  • day release /twilight
  • open learning

When delivered as a full-time programme, the NPA will be a combination of theoretical Units with the option of including the remaining SVQ Level 2 Units from Health and Social Care so candidates can gain the full SVQ Level 2 award.

Another option for centres would be to include the more theoretical Unit — F1RH 11 The Human Body — which may support the progression of candidates to SCQF level 7 qualifications.

Where the NPA is being completed on a part-time basis and candidates are currently working in a clinical setting, there may be the option to complete the remaining SVQ Units to gain the full SVQ Level 2 award if they wished. This will assist in developing their skills and working towards SVQ Level 3 or progression to higher level courses.

Where the NPA is offered to candidates who are still at school then it would be expected that, for the fifth year group, the theory Units would be completed first and then the practical Units in the following year.

There may be the option for some Units to be taught through open learning. However, the full award will not be available in this mode since the SVQ Units require direct observation of practice.

Who does this qualification suit

The NPA in Health and Social Care: Promoting Reablement is open to everyone but the focus is primarily on:

  • adults re-entering education who have an interest and aptitude for health and social care
  • employees who are employed as support workers
  • school leavers and those in S5 and S6

The NPA may be an option for those still at school who wish to enter a future career path within Health and Social Care. Learners in fifth year, for example, could complete their theory Units and then undertake a placement in their sixth year while still at school.


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

All candidates enrolling for this National Progression Award will require access to a work placement in order to fulfil the required mandatory SVQ Unit standards and to conform to the Assessment Strategy for work-based qualifications. Where candidates are in work and wish to complete Units making up the SVQ Level 2 in Health and Social Care, centres must ensure that the job role currently held by the candidate will facilitate this progression path.

It would be beneficial if candidates had achieved one of the following qualifications:

  • a Course or selection of Units at SCQF level 5 in a general subject area
  • three Standard Grades in a social subject at SCQF level 5
  • three Standard Grades in a science subject at SCQF level 5
  • three Standard Grades in Social and Vocational Studies at SCQF level 5
  • work experience in Health and Social Care


This award could provide progression to:

  • further education
  • an HNC Care or HND Care and Administration or HNC Social Care

The award will also help individuals to comply with the NHS KSF/CLF and to progress to Assistant Practitioner level and beyond, leading to entry to a pre-registered undergraduate programme and then to registration (NES 2010). Alternatively, a successful candidate could opt for a social work undergraduate programme leading to social work registration.


Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority will have to come forward for approval and should contact SQA’s Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA’s general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Guide to Approval.

How to assess

Assessment of this award will be a combination of work placement, practical and knowledge assessments. Centres should refer to the assessment and Evidence Requirements for each Unit.

An assessment support pack is available for the mandatory Unit Reablement and Self Management: Practical Skills (H2M7 12).

Qualification content and delivery tools


The National Progression Award in Promoting Reablement in Health and Social Care consists of four mandatory Units and 14 optional Units at SCQF levels 5 and 6.

For further information on the Units and structure of the qualification please refer to the Group Award Specification document.

Arrangements Documents