NPA Painting at SCQF level 5

NPA Painting at SCQF level 5

The new National Progression Award (NPA) in Painting at SCQF level 5 is a nationally recognised qualification that enables learners to demonstrate their competence in order to gain employment or access to further study.

The NPA in Painting at SCQF level 5 uses existing SVQ Units and covers: workplace health, safety and welfare, setting-up work platforms, preparing surfaces, and painting techniques.

It is available through centres, employers and training providers.

Why deliver this qualification

NPAs are trusted because they are developed by practitioners from industry and are supported by the relevant sector skills council (Construction Skills SSC). Industry has recognised that the qualification fits the job.

This qualification is based on the most current version of National Occupational Standards, defined by Construction Skills SSC.

The qualification can be assessed within a workplace environment or, where simulation is used, within a realistic working environment.

Who does this qualification suit

This NPA is suitable for:

  • mature candidates who may have been out of education for some time 
  • individuals who are currently in employment and who wish to obtain a formal qualification
  • employers who wish their employees to obtain short, continuing professional development courses


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

No prior qualifications are required to undertake this qualification, although experience in/knowledge of subject would be an advantage.


The level 5 award could provide progression to: 

  • an HNC in Painting and Decorating Supervision or a related area
  • an SVQ in Decorative Finishes at SCQF level 6
  • degree level study at a higher education institution
  • employment in the painting sector


Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority will have to come forward for approval and should contact SQA’s Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA’s general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Guide to Approval

How to assess

Assessment of this award will be through a series of theoretical and practical assessments or tasks.

A personal statement and professional interview will determine the learner’s competence level.

Qualification content and delivery tools


The NPA Painting at SCQF level 5 consists of four mandatory Units.

Group award code: GG5C 45

For further information on the structure of this qualification please refer to the Group Award Specification document.

Group Award Specification