Award in Maritime Studies: Marine Vessel Hospitality Supervision at QCF level 3

Award in Maritime Studies: Marine Vessel Hospitality Supervision at QCF level 3

The Award in Maritime Studies: Marine Vessel Hospitality Supervision at QCF level 3 will be of interest to those who are interested in working in a supervisory role as a steward or stewardess on board a large yacht, ferry or cruise ship. 

Learners who achieve this qualification will:

Achievement of this Award is nationally recognised. It is available through schools, colleges and training providers.

The Maritime Skills Alliance (MSA) supports and encourages this qualification.  

Why deliver this qualification

This qualification has a wide potential market. It is open to all learners, regardless of age, academic experience or ability.

Centres have the flexibility to choose the delivery method which best suits their circumstances and their learners.

This qualification will support the maritime sector by attracting and providing a competent workforce, particularly in the boat master and yachting sub-sectors.  

The maritime sector plays a significant role in the UK economy. In addition to tourism, it enables the movement of people, goods and services nationally and internationally. It is also a crucial part of the off-shore energy sector.  

The Maritime Skills Alliance comprises the British Marine Federation, the Royal Yachting Association, the Maritime and Coastguard Agency, the Royal Navy, the British Tug-Owners Association, the Association of International Maritime Institutions, the Workboats Association, the Company of Watermen and Lightermen, the Passenger Boat Association, International Jack Up Bargeowners Association, Royal National Lifeboat Institution, Marine Society and Sea Cadets.

The qualification can be used to offer progression to other qualifications in the maritime and/or hospitality sector (see Progression).

Who does this qualification suit

This Award at QCF level 3 is suitable for:

  • people in employment who wish to enhance their career prospects


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.


The Award may provide progression to:

  • Other Maritime/Hospitality qualifications
  • Level 3 Award — Hospitality Supervision and Leadership
  • Level 3 Diploma — Hospitality Supervision and Leadership
  • Level 3 Diploma — Professional Cookery
  • Level 3 Diploma — Professional Cookery Food Preparation and Cooking
  • QCF Maritime Qualifications


Approval is not devolved to centres. Information regarding the approval process is available from SQA’s Business Development Team.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA’s general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Guide to Approval.

How to assess

The Unit specification gives detailed information on the Evidence Requirements and approaches to assessment for the Unit.

Awards are not graded.

Assessment can take place at appropriate points as candidates progress through the tasks within the Unit. Evidence of assessment can be presented in a format which best suits the individual candidates and the activities being undertaken.
Evidence can include written records, e-mails, assessor records, diaries and video recordings of interviews or photographs.

Assessment Guidelines and Unit are available to download from SQA’s secure site.

Qualification content and delivery tools

Qualifications Structure

SQA Group Award code: GH78 69 (10 QCF credit points)
Ofqual Code: 601/1446/0

The Maritime Studies Award in Hospitality at QCF level 3 consists of one mandatory Unit (10 QCF credit points). There are no optional Units.

For information on the structure of this qualification, please refer to the Qualifications Structure  (186 KB).

Maritime Skills Alliance logo