Award in Health and Safety in a Construction Environment

Award in Health and Safety in a Construction Environment

The SQA Award in Health and Safety in a Construction Environment at SCQF level 4 will develop the necessary knowledge required to progress on to complete the assessment to gain the CSCS Green Card.

Achievement of this Award is nationally recognised. It is available through colleges and training providers.

Why deliver this qualification

This Award has a wide potential market. It is open to all learners, regardless of age, academic experience or ability.

Centres have the flexibility to choose the delivery method which best suits their circumstances and their learners.

Who does this qualification suit

The Health and Safety in a Construction Environment Award at SCQF level 4 is suitable for:

  • school leavers
  • college students
  • trainees preparing for employment


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

No specific knowledge is required to undertake this Award. This is an entry level qualification for labourers entering building sites for the first time.


The Award may provide progression to:


Centres will have to come forward for approval and should contact SQA’s Business Development team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA’s general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Guide to Approval.

Assessment and Internal Verification of this Qualification must be carried out by individuals who can provide ALL of the evidence below.


Assessors must be competent in relation to Health & Safety in the Construction sector. 


There is no requirement for Assessors and Internal Verifiers to hold or be working towards an Assessor or Internal Verifier qualification. However a construction related Health & Safety Qualification is required along with appropriate Continuing Professional Development .
For example: NEBOSH, IOSH, CCNS Safety Passport, CIEH.
Note: the qualifications named above are examples of acceptable qualifications, evidence of Continuing Professional Development of the qualification in also required.

Occupational Experience

Assessors must have occupational experience within the construction sector and have experience of the Health & Safety requirements of this qualification. If an assessor is in possession of CSCS or has previously delivered the CSCS training, this is acceptable.


Assessors must have a clear understanding of the assessment requirements of this qualification and its specific unit assessment demands.

How to assess

The Unit specification gives detailed information on the Evidence Requirements and approaches to assessment for the Unit.

The Unit requires the candidate to pass a multiple-choice question paper.

Assessment materials for the Unit are available to download from SQA’s secure site. This is available from your centre's SQA Co-ordinator. For further information, please contact

Qualification content and delivery tools

Qualification Structure

Group Award code: GJ4P 04 (6 SCQF credit points)

The Award in GJ4P 04 at SCQF level 4 consists of one mandatory Unit (6 SCQF credit points).

For information on the structure of this qualification, please refer to the Qualification Structure (51 KB).

Assessment Guidance

Assessment materials for this qualification are available on SQA’s secure site. This is available from your centre’s SQA Co-ordinator. For further information, please contact