Youthlink Scotland awards recognise lifetime achievers

Youthlink Scotland - Liz Wilson

Youthlink Scotland, Scotland’s national agency for youth work, held their eighth annual Youth Worker of the Year awards in Glasgow recently.  SQA were once again delighted to support the ceremony and sponsored the Lifetime Achievement / Youthlink Fellowship Award.

There were three recipients of the Youthlink Fellowship Award this year; Alex Currie of South Lanarkshire Council, Jim Gribben of East Ayrshire Council and Liz Wilson of East Lothian Scout Council.

Jim Sweeney, Chief Executive of YouthLink Scotland, said: “In every area of the country there are countless examples of people, paid and unpaid who do great work with young people that quite literally changes lives. This year’s winners show that investing in our young people is absolutely critical to the economic and social success of Scotland and the Scottish Government’s ambition for a truly equal society.”

The winners were presented with their awards by Derek Houston, SQA regional manager; Fiona McLeod MSP, Acting Minister for Children and Young People and Forth One DJ, Arlene Stuart

More information on the Youth Worker of the Year awards is available from the Youthlink Scotland website