Enterprise and Employability

Enterprise and Employability

The National Progression Award (NPA) in Enterprise and Employability equips candidates with relevant and transferable skills which can be used in any employment setting, including self-employment.

Available at SCQF levels 4 and 5, the flexible structure and content of the NPA is relevant and desirable to a wide range of candidates. It also meets the principles of Curriculum for Excellence.

This qualification is available in schools and colleges.


Why deliver this qualification

The NPA in Enterprise and Employability gives centres the flexibility to choose a delivery method which best suits their circumstances and their candidates, while encouraging interdisciplinary delivery.

Achievement of this qualification is nationally recognised.

Who does this qualification suit

This NPA may appeal to a wide range of candidates of varying age and ability, including:

  • S3 and S4 pupils who may take it as part of the school’s vocational programme
  • pre-vocational pupils planning to leave at the end of S4 or winter of S5
  • anyone looking to improve their employability and entrepreneurial skills
  • anyone looking to re-enter the job market or broaden their skills and competences
  • trainees of national programmes, preparing them to enter the workforce such as Get Ready for Work and Training for Work programmes

Further education establishments may also consider using some or all of the Units within full or part-time college programmes.


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.


Candidates who achieve the NPA:

  • increase their employment opportunities due to improved work related skills and qualities
  • acquire knowledge and skills essential for self employment
  • improve career progression prospects if already in employment

In addition, candidates may progress to:

  • SCQF level 5 from level 4
  • an SCQF level 5 or 6 Personal Development Award
  • further vocational courses such as Skills for Work
  • business related awards at SCQF levels 5 and 6


Centres with devolved authority are eligible to seek approval through their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority will have to come forward for approval and should contact the Business Development Team for guidance in completing the combined CA1/SA1 form.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements as outlined in the guide to approval.

How to assess

Assessment is through a range of practical activities, candidate folios, self-evaluation, planning and review.

Assessment Support Packs and NABs can be downloaded from SQA’s secure website.

Qualification content and delivery tools

Qualification structure

Group Award code:

  • SCQF level 4 — G976 44 (24 SCQF credit points)
  • SCQF level 5 — G9AH 45 (24 SCQF credit points)

NPA in Enterprise and Employability at SCQF level 4 and 5 (137 KB)

Structure of NPA at SCQF level 4

To achieve the NPA at SCQF level 4, candidates must complete one mandatory Unit and some optional Units from both Group A and Group B.

Mandatory Unit

Personal Development: Self and Work — H18P 44

Structure of NPA at SCQF level 5

To achieve the NPA at SCQF level 5, candidates must complete one mandatory Unit and some optional Units from both Group A and Group B.

Mandatory Unit

Personal Development: Self and Work — H18P 45

SQA Partnerships

Social Enterprise Academy

Social Enterprise Academy is an organisation that encourages the set-up and delivery of sustainable social enterprise in Scotland. It works across Scotland in schools, colleges and communities to develop greater understanding of enterprise and to create a lasting legacy from the enterprise projects created.