SVQ Spectator Safety Stewarding at SCQF level 5

SVQ Spectator Safety Stewarding at SCQF level 5

The Scottish Vocational Qualification (SVQ 2) in Spectator Safety Stewarding at SCQF level 5 allows candidates to demonstrate competence in job-related skills in their particular area of work and expertise.

This qualification covers areas such as preparing for spectator events, controlling the movement of spectators and dealing with crowd issues at an event. It also includes helping to manage conflict, dealing with incidents and working with others to improve customer service. 

This qualification has been designed in partnership/jointly awarded with the sector skills council SkillsActive to ensure relevance to the sector.

SVQs are based on National Occupational Standards (NOS). SQA works in partnership with other organisations to ensure that the NOS are relevant to the current and future needs of Scottish industries.

This qualification is available through employers and training providers.

Important information: As of 1 September 2016, all SVQs with an established SCQF level no longer include the SVQ level in their titles. Please note that our web pages and documents will gradually be updated over time as the SVQs are reviewed, so may still contain the existing titles. More information on SCQF levels can be found on our SCQF web page.

Why deliver this qualification

The SVQ 2 Spectator Safety Stewarding at SCQF level 5 is a re-accredited qualification.

Learners will gain an internationally recognised qualification which guarantees that they have the skills, knowledge and abilities to carry out their role successfully. Employers will also benefit from their employees being proficient.

As assessment is carried out in the workplace this minimises any time learners would need to be away from their work.

Candidates can progress to a range of qualifications including HNC in Events.

The SVQ can be offered in any of the following modes:

  • full-time
  • part-time (eg day-release) 

Who does this qualification suit

This SVQ is suitable for:

  • learners who may have just left school
  • individuals who are currently in employment and who wish to obtain a formal qualification
  • employees who wish to obtain short, continuing professional development courses

The SVQs in Spectator Safety Stewarding could open up more employment opportunities and enhance career prospects.


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

Candidates should be in a job or placement where they are carrying out relevant tasks and responsibilities which allow then to gather the required evidence.

No prior qualifications or knowledge are required to undertake this qualification. However completion of the NPA Introduction to Spectator Safety would be beneficial.


This SVQ 2 could provide progression to:

  • an HNC in Events
  • a PDA in Events Operations
  • an SVQ 3 in Spectator Safety Supervision at SCQF level 6
  • employment in the security/events industry, perhaps as an events steward


Centres will have to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

How to assess

For general information on how to assess this qualification, please refer to the document Guidance on how to assess SVQs. For detailed guidance on how to assess this particular SVQ, please refer to the assessment strategy.

Where can you take this course?

Qualification content and delivery tools

Information about the qualification(s)

Qualification Structure

Group award code: GL3A 22

The SVQ 2 Spectator Safety Stewarding at SCQF level 5 consists of five mandatory units and one optional unit.

For details of the units making up the SVQ, please refer to the qualification structure.

National Occupational Standards

Unit information for this qualification is available on our Unit Search.

Core Skills signposting

Core Skill mappings are carried out by the SSC responsible for the development of an SVQ. It is a requirement of SQA Accreditation that every SVQ submission includes information on where possible opportunities for candidates to develop Core Skills exist across the mandatory units.

Centres should note that mappings are not audited or validated against the Core Skills framework/units so are not accepted by SQA awarding body as evidence towards achievement of the Core Skills units.

Information about delivery, assessment, quality assurance and support material

Useful links

Skills Development Scotland

Skills Active