SQA/QCF Level 4 Diploma in Professional Financial Advice

Information about the Diploma

Calibrand logo

The SQA/QCF Level 4 Diploma in Professional Financial Advice is in its lapsing period and ends on 31 July 2018.  No new candidates can be entered for this qualification.

The Diploma in Professional Advice is now awarded by the Chartered Banker Institute and delivered in collaboration with Calibrand.  Further information is available at https://www.charteredbanker.com/qualifications/our-qualifications.diploma-in-professional-financial-advice.html

The Level 4 Diploma in Professional Financial Advice has been designed by SQA and Calibrand Limited to meet the regulatory requirements of the Financial Services Authority’s Retail Distribution Review (RDR).

All Financial Advisors are required to hold a Level 4 qualification by the end of 2012.

The SQA/Calibrand devised Diploma provides an accessible e-learning platform and a tailored e-assessment solution which meets all of the regulatory requirements and provides a flexible learning and assessment route for candidates and their employers.

Approved by FSA and the Financial Services Skills Council (FSSC), the award is now accredited on the Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF).

The Diploma is made up of six individual, mandatory Units and all 6 are required to gain the full Diploma:

Each of the Units within the Diploma is delivered electronically through Calibrand’s e-assessment solutions. Units 1 to 5 are multiple choice based examinations and Unit 6 is delivered electronically through an essay style examination which is also assessed electronically.

Who should take this award

Those people who will need to/be most likely to take the full award are:

Those more likely to undertake some individual units would be:

Further information

If you are an individual or a company looking to undertake the Diploma, or would like further information about it, please contact Linda Meikle, Qualifications Officer at SQA at linda.meikle@sqa.org.uk or visit Calibrand’s web site for further information - http://www.calibrand.com

FSA's Retail Distribution Review (RDR)

The FSA's Retail Distribution Review (RDR) aims to raise industry standards by increasing the minimum level of qualification for financial advisers from level 3 to level 4 overall. All current financial advisers who do not meet the overall requirement will need to qualify by the end of 2012.

In order to help Independent Financial Advisers in bridging this gap, Calibrand Limited and SQA has developed the Diploma in Professional Financial Advice.


SQA and Calibrand announce partnership with the Institute of Financial Planning

SQA, in partnership with the Institute of Financial Planning (IFP) and e-assessments solutions provider Calibrand Limited, have announced a working relationship to offer all IFP members the opportunity to study the SQA Diploma in Professional Financial Advice.