HNC Quality candidate information

HNC Quality

The HNC Quality is designed to develop an understanding of the field of Total Quality, allowing you to appreciate the holistic nature of Quality Assurance, Quality Management Systems, Quality Management and Quality Improvement. It will also furnish you with the skills to practice effectively in the field of Quality.

The award will allow you to develop an understanding of the scope for quality improvement. You will also develop an understanding of the principles of quality assurance and quality systems. It will also develop your management skills, to the levels demanded by employers.

The award will enhance your planning, analysis, synthesis, study and research skills.

Employment and progression opportunities

The HNC Quality is designed to provide you with the skills and knowledge required to enter a range of quality related roles. The types of post that may be available include: Quality Officer, Quality Inspector, Senior Quality Officer, Quality Manager, Quality Technician, and Quality Engineer.

The University of Paisley currently runs a degree programme in Quality Management there is a clear link between the two awards which allows progression to the degree programme. In addition, there are a wide variety of degree programmes which include elements of Quality and Quality Management.

The Institute of Quality Assurance (IQA) is the main professional body offering progression to and from the HNC in Quality. The IQA Certificate in Quality would provide a good basis to start the HNC in Quality. The HNC Quality provides a good grounding for progression to the IQA’s Diploma in Quality. On achieving the HNC Quality you will be eligible for accreditation of prior learning for 2 Units of IQA’s Diploma in Quality — D1, Introduction to Quality and D2, Quality Management.


As with all SQA qualifications, entry is at the discretion of the centre. Examples of formal entry qualifications include:

  • appropriate groupings of National Units
  • any two Highers, together with 3 Standard Grade passes at 3 or above
  • an SVQ at level 3 or above in a relevant area
  • relevant work experience

Different combinations of relevant National Qualifications, Vocational Qualifications and equivalent qualifications from other awarding bodies may also be acceptable.