SVQ Healthcare Support (Clinical and Non-clinical) at SCQF level 6 and 7

SVQ Healthcare Support (Clinical and Non-clinical) at SCQF level 6 and 7

The SVQ in Healthcare Support (Clinical and Non-clinical) at SCQF levels 6 and 7 have been developed for support staff in the NHS and employees in the private healthcare sector.

The SVQs cover the job roles and functions carried out by all support workers in healthcare settings and have been designed in conjunction with Skills for Health — the sector skills council for health.

The National Occupational Standards have been selected and agreed in consultation with health employers and practitioners from across the wider healthcare sector.

The qualifications are:

SVQ Healthcare Support (Clinical) SCQF level 6

SVQ Healthcare Support (Non-clinical) SCQF level 6

SVQ Healthcare Support (Clinical) SCQF level 7

SVQ Healthcare Support (Non-clinical) SCQF level 7

The SVQs are assessed in the workplace. Examples of the settings or centres in which the SVQs are likely to be assessed include: the NHS, private healthcare providers, and adult care settings.

These qualifications are available through colleges and training providers.

Why deliver this qualification

The changes to the SVQs in Healthcare Support have been planned to make the qualifications more accessible to a wider range of staff in the healthcare services. The SVQs are also now more achievable because the size of individual Units has been reduced, and they are more inclusive because a wider range of assessment methods are now available.

The  wider range of Units makes it possible to tailor the SVQs much more specifically to the job role and function of the candidate.

The wider range of assessment methods includes Professional Discussion which provides a holistic approach to assessing knowledge and understanding. It is useful in determining not only what and how a candidate is performing, but also their analytical and decision-making abilities.

Who does this qualification suit

The SVQs in Healthcare Support (Clinical and Non-clinical) are suitable for support staff in the NHS and employees in the private healthcare sector. These SVQs enable individuals to show that they have demonstrated some of the competences required to support the delivery of healthcare services.

Individuals who have completed the NHSScotland Mandatory Induction Standards for Healthcare Support Workers may be able to use some or all of the evidence they have gathered towards completion of the mandatory Units of the SVQs.


Entry to these SVQs is at the discretion of the centre.


Candidates can progress from SVQ 2 to SVQ 3 as long as their job role is appropriate to the requirements of the SVQ 3 qualification. Candidates could also progress to other SVQs, eg management, or to further education courses, such as HNC/HND programmes and PDAs.


Centres without devolved authority will have to come forward for approval and should contact the Business Development Team for guidance in completing the combined CA1/SA1 form.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements as outlined in the guide to approval.

How to assess

Assessment arrangements will be agreed between the candidate and their assessor. Evidence Requirements for these SVQs consists of a combination of written and/or oral reports and practical assignments and projects which are linked to the candidate's job role.

The assessment strategy contains full details for those involved in the assessment. Evidence Requirements for Units are contained in the Unit specifications.

Where can you take this course?

Qualification content and delivery tools

Information about the qualification(s)

National Occupational Standards

Unit information for this qualification is available on our Unit Search.

Unit(s) and delivery tools

Group Award codes level 2:

SVQ 2 Healthcare Support (Clinical) — GD0V 22
SVQ 2 Healthcare Support (Non Clinical) — GD08 22

Group Award codes level 3:

SVQ 3 Healthcare Support (Clinical) — GD0R 23
SVQ 3 Healthcare Support (Non Clinical) — GD0T 23



To achieve an SVQ 2, candidates must achieve three mandatory Units and three optional Units. For SVQ 3, candidates must achieve three mandatory Units and five optional Units.

Mandatory Units for

SVQ 2 Healthcare Support (Clinical) and

SVQ 2 Healthcare Support (Non Clinical)

Communicate Effectively in a Healthcare Environment — FN7D 04
Make Sure your Own Actions Reduce the Risks to Health and Safety — F470 04
Carry out your responsibilities at Work 2 — DP7D 04

Mandatory Units for SVQ 3 Healthcare Support (Clinical) and

 SVQ Healthcare Support (Non Clinical)

Promote Effective Communication in a Healthcare Environment — FN94 04
Maintain Health and Security Practices within a Health Setting — FN95 04
Reflect on and Develop your Practice — DK57 04

Information about delivery, assessment, quality assurance and support material