QCF Award in ICT e-safety

QCF Award in ICT e-safety

The ICT e-safety Award at QCF level 1 provides learners with information and practical experience regarding the safety factors and legal considerations which need to be taken into account when using the internet.

The ICT e-safety Award includes dealing with unwanted e-mail, protecting against identity theft, cyberbullying, and protecting systems against malware.

The learning, teaching and assessment of the ICT e-safety Award at QCF level 1 are delivered completely online — learning, teaching and assessment — at any location.

This qualification is available through the workplace, schools, colleges, and training providers.

Qualification title Ofqual code SQA code
SQA Level 1 ICT e-safety Award


GA9N 58

Who does this qualification suit

This award is suitable for a wide range of learners who use the internet including:

  • young people
  • parents

mature adults


Access is at the discretion of the centre. No previous knowledge of computers or the internet is required. It would be advantageous for learners to possess basic IT skills.


Learners may be able to progress to SQA’s IT User Skills (ITQ) Awards, Certificates and Diplomas.


Information regarding the centre approval process is available from SQA's Business Development team.

How to assess

Three of the four learning outcomes are e-assessed using SQA’s online assessment system SQA SOLAR. One learning outcome is assessed by learner digital portfolio. An assessor need not be present. However, if an assessor is not present then an expert witness may confirm that it is the learner who is undertaking the assessment or building the portfolio.

Online teaching and learning materials are available via SQA Academy.

Qualification content and delivery tools

Qualification content and delivery tools

The structure of this qualification suits all modes of delivery — full-time, part-time, flexible and open learning. Learners can progress at their own rate.

Structure of SQA level 1 ITQ e-safety Award

Learners must complete one mandatory Unit: Internet Safety for IT Users — FK97 58 (SQA code)

On completion learners will have achieved 20 guided learning hours.