PDA Telehealthcare SCQF level 6

PDA Telehealthcare SCQF level 6

The Professional Development Award (PDA) in Telehealthcare at SCQF level 6 is comprises of two HN Units, each at SCQF level 6. It provides an SQA qualification for those working within the telehealthcare sector. Telehealthcare covers a range of devices and services that harness developing technology, to enable people to live with greater independence and safety in their homes.

This qualification is available through colleges and training providers. Delivery approaches such as distance learning, e-learning and workplace place learning are actively encouraged and where possible used to enrich all candidates' experiences of the award — not just those individuals living and working at a distance from the approved centre.

Why deliver this qualification

The PDA in Telehealthcare at SCQF level 6 been designed as a taught course and will normally be delivered through a combination of workshops and self-directed study. The course can be delivered on a full or part-time basis.

The award will enable telehealthcare staff to demonstrate competence in their respective roles, and provide opportunities for career progression and continuous professional development.

Who does this qualification suit

Candidates are not required to have any formal qualifications prior to embarking on the PDA. Acceptance of relevant equivalent qualifications and or experience is at the discretion of centres delivering the award. However, centres must ensure that candidates are in an appropriate job role to be able to meet the requirements of the PDA.

Candidates should:

  • Be able to demonstrate effective communication and interpersonal skills. For example, the achievement of a Communication unit at SCQF Level 4 or an employer's reference
  • Have substantial prior knowledge, skills and experience of telehealthcare service delivery.


The Units in the PDA have been mapped against the National Occupational Standards for Health and Social Care. Candidates would have the opportunity of progressing to other PDAs, which could perhaps lead to a full HN qualification or SVQ in Health and Social Care at level 2.


Centres with devolved authority are eligible to seek approval through their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority will have to come forward for approval and should contact the Business Development Team for guidance in completing the relevant approval application forms.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements as outlined in the guide to approval.

How to assess

This PDA is based on work-based learning. Each unit within the PDA will be assessed separately. Assessment methods used within this Professional Award include (see glossary of terms):

  • Reflection (written and or oral)
  • Portfolio of evidence
  • Open book exam
  • Verification from workplace supervisor

Where can you take this course?

Arrangements Documents

Unit(s) and delivery tools

Group Award code: GE3G 46 (18 SCQF credit points)

SCQF level: 6


The PDA in Telehealthcare at SCQF level 6 is consists of 1 mandatory HN Units and 1 optional unit from the selection below:

Mandatory Unit

  • Working in Telehealthcare (FX9F 33)

Optional Units one Unit to be selected from list below:

  • Telehealthcare: Installation, Maintenance and Repair (FX9J 33)
  • Telehealthcare: Call Handling (FX9H 33)
  • Telehealthcare: Response (FX9G 33)