Skills for learning, life and work

What is the SfLLW Framework?

We support the development of generic skills throughout our qualifications.

SQA has developed a framework of broad, generic skills - The Skills for Learning, Skills for Life and Skills for Work (SfLLW) Framework. This framework is derived from Building the Curriculum 4

The SfLLW Framework outlines definitions of the five broad areas of generic skills that are essential for qualification development:

Download the Skills for Learning, Skills for Life and Skills for Work framework

How to use the SfLLW Framework

The skills framework also assists with the design of assessment and learning and teaching methods. These skills sit alongside knowledge, understanding and subject-based skills.

A toolkit, 'Skills for Learning, Skills for Life and Skills for Work: Using the Curriculum Tool' has been developed to support the use of the skills framework. It is available on SQA's secure website and can be obtained via your centre's SQA co-ordinator.

Except for literacy and numeracy, skills for learning, skills for life and skills for work will not be automatically certificated. The development of skills for learning, life and work is the responsibility of all practitioners. Many of the opportunities to develop the skills will be naturally occurring, through learning and teaching activities.

Skills developed through National Courses and Awards

National Courses and Awards should each feature Skills for Learning, Life and Work. Course and unit specifications identify which of the skills are most prominent.

Everyone is responsible for literacy, numeracy and aspects of health and wellbeing skills. There should be many opportunities to include them in the learning and teaching of each qualification

Skills opportunities in our qualifications

We have identified learning opportunities to develop these SfLLW in National Qualifications. Click the links below to learn more about qualifications which focus directly on the skills within the framework: