Skills for Learning, Life and Work

All learners are entitled to develop their Skills for Learning, Life and Work (SfLLW). We support the development of generic skills throughout our qualifications. Derived from Building the Curriculum 4, the SfLLW framework has been used to develop National Qualifications.

The following sections include the SfLLW framework, as well as information on where to find the Core and other generic skills in the National qualifications. You’ll find information on the Literacy and Numeracy units designed using the SfLLW framework. Included are examples of suggested qualifications that develop and recognise these important skills.

SfLLW framework

SQA has developed a framework of broad, generic skills. The Skills for Learning, Skills for Life and Skills for Work framework is derived from Building the Curriculum 4.

The framework outlines definitions of the five broad areas of generic skills that are essential for qualification development.

The five broad areas are:

This skills framework also assists with the design of assessment and learning and teaching methods. These skills sit alongside knowledge, understanding and subject based skills.

A ‘toolkit’, Skills for Learning, Skills for Life and Skills for Work: Using the Curriculum Tool has been developed to support the use of the skills framework. It is available on SQA’s secure website and can be obtained via your centre’s SQA co-ordinator.

Skills for learning, skills for life and skills for work will not be automatically certificated. The development of these skills is the responsibility of all practitioners. Many of the opportunities to develop the skills will be naturally occurring, through learning and teaching activities.

Core Skills remain an important part of our Scottish system and Core Skill qualifications will remain for the foreseeable future.

Skills expected, including automatically certificated Core Skills

National Courses and Awards should each feature Skills for Learning, Life and Work. Course and unit specifications identify which of the skills are most prominent.

Everyone is responsible for literacy, numeracy and aspects of health and wellbeing skills. There should be many opportunities to include them in the learning and teaching of each qualification.

Core Skills are automatically certificated in some key National Courses, Awards and Units. When a learner achieves the qualification, their Core Skills Profile is updated. This shows they have achieved the Core Skill/component(s) at the corresponding SCQF level. The Catalogue of Automatic Certification of Core Skills lists these qualifications.

Literacy and Numeracy

The skills framework has been used to develop Units in Literacy and Numeracy which are available at SCQF levels 3, 4 and 5.

We have established equivalent relationships between the Literacy and Numeracy Units and the Core Skills and National Certificate Communication Units.

Skills opportunities in our qualifications

We have identified learning opportunities to develop these SfLLW in National Qualifications. For each of the five main skill areas we have highlighted some qualifications which focus directly on the skills within the framework..