National Certificate in Architecture and Art

National Certificate in Architecture and Art

The National Certificate (NC) in Architecture and Art at SCQF level 6 provides learners with skills that they will need for employment and/or further study in architecture or art. The qualification has a practical emphasis, reflecting the nature of these professions.

National Certificates (NCs) are designed for full-time delivery over one year (or part-time over two years) and are available through schools, colleges and training providers.

Why deliver this qualification

The NC in Architecture and Art at SCQF level 6 is based on National Occupational Standards and is funded by the Scottish Funding Council. It is a flexible Group Award that can be offered on a full-time or part-time basis.

Centres could offer a full-time programme of between 12–16 Units over an academic session, or a 12 Unit course could be offered on a part-time basis.

There are opportunities for online learning for many of the Units within this programme and there are opportunities for team teaching — with Units being assessed by either art or architecture lecturers/tutors.

Who does this qualification suit

The NC in Architecture and Art at SCQF level 6 is suitable for young people and adults who wish to enter a career in architecture or art.


While entry to the qualification is at the discretion of the centre, it would be advantageous if potential candidates could demonstrate an interest in architecture or art.


There are opportunities to progress to the Higher National Certificate (HNC) in Architectural Technology, or to pursue further study within creative industries courses such as the HNC in Digital Media, HNC in Contemporary Art Practice, HNC in 3D Design or HNC in Visual Communication.


Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority will have to come forward for approval and should contact SQA’s Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA’s general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Guide to Approval (98 KB).

How to assess

There are opportunities to integrate learning and assessment across the NC. A holistic approach to the delivery and assessment of the award is recommended, where possible.

Assessment is intended to be practical in nature, reflecting the nature of the art and architectural professions.

Learning materials, teaching approaches and assessment strategies should encourage the participation and engagement of learners. Peer assessment is an important feature of the assessment strategy since architecture is a career within the public domain and the use of critique both informs and develops an architect’s style.

Qualification content and delivery tools

Qualification structure

Group Award Code: GG0M 46 (72 SCQF credit points)

The National Certificate in Architecture and Art at SCQF level 6 consists of six mandatory Units and 17 optional Units at SCQF levels 5 and 6.

National Certificate in Architecture and Art (429 KB)