HND Computing: Technical Support (Fixed Framework)

HND Computing: Networking

Higher National qualifications provide skills and knowledge employers need. They allow advanced university entry internationally.

The HND in Computing: Technical Support (SCQF level 8) covers a range of specialist technical skills and knowledge in using and supporting computer systems.

An SQA HND in Computing: Technical Support will give learners a range of contemporary vocational and technical computing skills to enable them to work in an IT-related role. The course covers all the fundamental aspects of technical support, including in-depth knowledge of operating systems, networks, hardware and software development — as well as professionalism, ethics and team working in computing.

This qualification is available through a growing number of colleges and universities around the world. Typically, an HND takes two years to complete.

Why deliver this qualification

Higher National qualifications have been developed by SQA in partnership with colleges, universities and industry ¿ so employers recognise that they provide sound evidence of ability.

The Unit-based structure supports flexible delivery. A Unit is typically 40 hours of timetabled learning.

All in a global context, the HND covers in-depth knowledge on operating systems, networks, hardware and software development.

Who does this qualification suit

The HND in Computing: Technical Support is suitable for a wide range of candidates including:

  • school leavers
  • adult returners to education
  • individuals in employment who wish to enhance their career prospects
  • people who wish to start their own business

Entry requirements

As with all SQA qualifications, entry is decided by the college or learning provider. As a guide, the college or learning provider will look for:

  • school-leaving qualifications equivalent to QCF level 3/ SCQF level 6, meaning the student has the ability to study at the higher level
  • a centre-devised test which shows the student¿s ability to study at HND level
  • relevant work experience

Progression and employment

The HND in Computing: Technical Support can provide advanced entry to degree-level study. For further information please refer to the SQA Diploma to Degree arrangements.


Centre and subject approvals are required as outlined here: Approvals Process

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA¿s general requirements for technical/occupational competence.

How to assess

Each individual Unit specification gives detailed information on the Evidence Requirements and approaches to assessment for each Unit.

Ongoing course assessment will apply.


Where can you take this course?

Qualification Verification Summary Reports

Qualification Structure

HND Computing: Technical Support

Group Award code:  GG5M 16 (240 SCQF credit points)

HND Computing: Technical Support at SCQF level 8 consists of 23 mandatory Units.

Course Tutor Guide (including Course Framework)

For further information on the structure and Units for this course please refer to the Course Tutor Guide (818 KB)