PDA International Financial Services

PDA International Financial Services

Professional Development Awards (PDAs) extend or broaden professional or vocational skills and are linked to National Occupational Standards. The PDA in International Financial Services at SCQF level 6 covers specialist and transferable skills in Financial Institutions, International Trade and Customer Service.

This qualification is available through colleges, training providers and some employers. It has been designed to be delivered as a taught course and will normally be available as a combination of workshops and self-directed study.

Why deliver this qualification

The PDA in International Financial Services at SCQF level 6 has been developed in partnership with employers and industry so it is fit for purpose.

It will help employers meet skills gaps and provide continuing professional development for staff, while learners will gain knowledge and skills needed for progression in the workplace.

It can also be offered to people who are in training and who wish to gain employment in the sector.

The Unit-based structure aids timetable flexibility. Units are typically 40 hours of learning and they can be delivered on a full-time or part-time basis.

This PDA provides progression routes to further study (see Progression).

Who does this qualification suit

The target audience is those in work, or seeking employment, who require a specific skill set.


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

Learners do not need to have formal relevant qualifications to enter this PDA. Good communication skills, both oral and written, are required. Current experience within a financial services setting would be advantageous.


The Units in the PDA have been mapped against the National Occupational Standards for Financial Services.

Learners could have the opportunity of progressing to a HN qualification in Financial Services at SCQF level 7 or 8 or a SVQ in Providing Financial Services at SCQF level 5 or 6.


Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority will have to come forward for approval and should contact SQA’s Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA’s general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Guide to Approval.

How to assess

Each individual Unit specification gives detailed information on the Evidence Requirements and approaches to assessment for each Unit.

Ongoing course assessment will apply.

Each Unit is assessed separately.

Assessment will allow learners to enhance their own practice. The use of reports and research activities is crucial to this.

Assessment/e-assessment support packs are available for this qualification.

Where can you take this course?

Group Award Specification

Qualification Structure

Group Award code: GG7A 46 (48 SCQF credit points)


The PDA in International Financial Services at SCQF level 6 consists of 3 mandatory Units and 3 optional Units.