HND Financial Services (Fixed Framework)

Higher National qualifications provide skills and knowledge that employers need. They allow advanced entry to universities internationally.

The HND in Financial Services develops skills and knowledge that are specific to the UK financial services industry, including product, service and legislative knowledge. The topics covered include: personal financial services, business accounting, economics, financial services regulatory framework, personal and business lending, principles of insurance, pensions provision, and financing international trade.

This HND also provides an understanding of the roles and responsibilities of financial services providers.

This qualification is available through a growing number of colleges and universities around the world. Typically, an HND takes two years to complete.

Why deliver this qualification

Higher National qualifications have been developed by SQA in partnership with colleges, universities and industry — so employers recognise that they provide sound evidence of ability.

The Unit-based structure supports flexible delivery. A Unit is typically 40 hours of timetabled learning.

Who does this qualification suit

The HND Financial Services is suitable for a wide range of candidates including:

  • school leavers
  • adult returners to education
  • individuals in employment who wish to enhance their career prospects
  • those who wish to pursue a career in financial services or in general business/management

Entry requirements

As with all SQA qualifications, entry is decided by the college or learning provider. As a guide, the college or learning provider will look for:

  • school-leaving qualifications equivalent to QCF level 3/ SCQF level 6 meaning the student has the ability to study at the higher level
  • a centre-devised test which shows the student’s ability to study at HND level
  • relevant work experience


The HND in Business can provide advanced entry to degree-level study or a Masters degree programme.

For further information please refer to the SQA Diploma to Degree agreements.


Centre and subject approvals are required as outlined here: Approvals Process

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA’s general requirements for technical/occupational competence.

How to assess

Each individual Unit specification gives detailed information on the Evidence Requirements and approaches to assessment for each Unit.

Ongoing course assessment will apply.


Where can you take this course?

Qualification Structure

HND Financial Services

Group Award code: GE9R 16 (240 SCQF credit points)

HND Financial Services at SCQF level 8 consists of 23 Units.

Course Tutor Guide (including Course Framework)

For further information on the structure and Units for this course please refer to the Course Tutor Guide (1.51 MB)

Guidance on updating Units with Tax Content

Error Tolerance Guidance for HN Accounting Units