NC in Computing with Digital Media

computing student

National Certificates (NCs) are practical qualifications designed to equip learners with the knowledge and skills (including Core Skills) required for further study or to gain employment.

The NC in Computing with Digital Media at SCQF level 6 develops knowledge and understanding of general computing as well as specific areas of choice. It also develops practical, technical and transferable skills.

This qualification covers areas such as computer hardware and systems, authoring a website, applications development, network literacy and academic skills. There is also a computing project.

National Certificates (NCs) are designed for full-time delivery over one year (or part-time over two years) and are available through schools, colleges and training providers.

Why deliver this qualification

NCs bridge the progression gap from school attainment to HN and other study. They are suitable for school leavers and those seeking a route back into study at non-advanced level. They are trusted qualifications having been developed by practitioners with the support of the sector skills councils.

The NC in Computing with Digital Media is straightforward to deliver and slots readily into college timetables.

It can be offered in any of the following modes:

  • full-time
  • full-time fast track
  • part-time (day or evening)
  • open or distance learning
  • combined delivery, eg part-time with open learning provision

National Certificates have e-assessment and e-learning options — improving flexibility and enabling time and cost savings.

National Certificates include opportunities for learners to develop Core Skills.

The achievement of National Progression Awards consisting of optional Units in the NC framework can contribute towards the successful completion of this award.

Who does this qualification suit

This NC is suitable for a wide range of candidates including:

  • full-time NC learners who have already completed the award at SCQF level 5
  • full-time NC learners who have come from school with National 5 qualifications
  • part-time learners who may wish to pick up individual Units or work towards the group award
  • adult returners wishing to re-enter education
  • learners looking to progress to an HNC/HND


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

No prior qualifications or knowledge are required to undertake this qualification, however learners would benefit from having attained the skills, knowledge and understanding required by having achieved one of the following or equivalent qualifications and/or experience:

  • National Certificate in Digital Media Computing at SCQF level 5
  • National Certificate in Computing with Digital Media at SCQF level 5
  • National 5 Computing Science qualification plus Core Skills in Communication and Numeracy at SCQF level 4 or above


The NC in Computing with Digital Media may provide progression opportunities to:

  • qualifications at SCQF levels 7 and above

On successful completion of the NC in Computing with Digital Media at SCQF level 6, learners may be able to progress onto any of the following HN programmes:

  • HNC Computing
  • HNC Computing: Networking
  • HNC Computing: Technical Support
  • HNC Computing: Software Development
  • HNC/HND Information Technology
  • HNC/HND Interactive Media
  • HNC/HND 3D Computer Animation
  • HNC/HND Computer Games Development
  • HND Computer Science


Centres not already approved to deliver this qualification need to come forward for approval and should contact SQA’s Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA’s general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Guide to Approval.

How to assess

Each Unit specification gives detailed information on the Evidence Requirements and approaches to assessment for the Unit.

Each Unit can be assessed separately or combined with other Units in a holistic approach.

Assessment Support Packs (ASPs) are available for selected Units and can be found on SQA’s secure website.

Formative e-assessments have been developed for selected Units and can be downloaded from SOLAR our online e-assessment service website.

Qualification content and delivery tools

Qualification Structure

Group Award code: GJ7V 46 (72 SCQF credit points)

SCQF level: 6

Group Award Specification for the National Certificate in Computing with Digital Media at SCQF level 6 (829 KB)

The National Certificate in Computing with Digital Media at SCQF level 6 consists of six mandatory Unit(s) (42 SCQF credit points) and five optional Units (30 SCQF credit points).

This qualification replaces the NC in Digital Media Computing at SCQF Level 6

Group Award: G9GK 46

This Group Award has been replaced and has entered into its lapsing period.

The finishing date for this qualification is 31 July 2019.