Diploma in Cultural Heritage at QCF level 5

Diploma in Cultural Heritage at QCF level 5

This group award has been withdrawn and has entered its lapsing period.

The operational end-date for this qualification is 31/05/2020

The certification end-date for this qualification is 31/05/2022 


The Diploma in Cultural Heritage at QCF level 5 will develop knowledge and skills in areas such as operations, conservation, collection management, learning and interpretation, marketing and fundraising.

This qualification includes managing a cultural heritage site; assessing the conservation needs of material cultural heritage; and developing strategies for a cultural heritage collection.

It also covers researching, documenting, and cataloguing; developing and implementing learning and interpretation programmes; and representing a cultural heritage organisation.

This qualification is available through approved centres.

Why deliver this qualification

This qualification offers centres flexibility and choice because of the comprehensive range of optional Units.

This Diploma in Cultural Heritage at QCF level 5 can be offered in any of the following modes:

  • full-time
  • part-time (eg day-release)
  • open and distance learning
  • infill into existing classes
  • evening provision

Who does this qualification suit

This qualification is suitable for a wide range of candidates, aged 18 and over, including:

  • school leavers
  • adult returners to education
  • people in employment who wish to enhance their career prospects
  • individuals who wish to start their own business


As with all SQA qualifications, entry is at the discretion of the centre.


Learners who have achieved the Diploma can progress to job roles relating to their chosen pathways.

They can also do further qualifications to build on their skills, such as a Foundation degree, HNC/D or a degree.


Centres will have to come forward for approval and should contact SQA’s Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA’s general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Guide to Approval.

How to assess

Ongoing course assessment will apply. Each Unit specification gives information on the Evidence Requirements and approaches to assessment for the Unit.

Qualification content and delivery tools

Qualification Structure

The Diploma in Cultural Heritage at QCF level 5 requires the learner to achieve a minimum total of 75 credits by completing the Mandatory Core Unit in Group A (8 credits) plus all of the required credits from one Pathway only.

Group Award code: GK36 85 (75 QCF credit points)
Ofqual Qualification Code: 601/5189/4

For information on the structure of this qualification, please refer to the Qualification Structure.


Unit specifications and Assessment Guidance

Unit specifications and Assessment Guidance for these qualifications are available on SQA's Secure website. These are available from your centre’s SQA Co-ordinator. For further information, please contact mycentre@sqa.org.uk

Assessment Strategy