Steadfast and Sure: youth work stalwarts recognised at awards

                                                                                              17 March 2016

Youth Worker of the Year Awards - Lifetime Achievement Winners

pictured l-r: John Forrest, Stanley McMillan, Jim Thomson, and Jim Duffy

Four committed youth workers from across the country were recognised recently at the annual Youthlink Scotland National Youth Worker of the Year Awards, which was sponsored by SQA.

Jim Duffy, Jim Thomson, Stanley McMillan, and John Forrest were all recognised with Lifetime Achievement awards for their dedication and contributions to youth work throughout Scotland. Between the four, they have over 180 years’ dedicates service to Scouts Scotland, The Boys’ Brigade, and the YMCA.

Jim Duffy has over 35 years’ service with Scouts Scotland and served as the organisation’s chief executive for almost 19 years.  Over his career with the Scouts, Jim has influenced Scottish youth work policy at a national level as a member of the Youthlink Scotland Board, Policy Forum, and as a member of the Voluntary Organisations Chief Officer’s Group.

At 93, Jim Thomson is still passionate about the YMCA and the positive role it plays in young people’s lives around the world. In a career spanning over 50 years, Jim has held numerous positions including African YMCA Secretary, World YMCA Refugee Secretary, and National General Secretary at YMCA Scotland.

Stanley McMillan has been a member of The Boys' Brigade since he was a school boy in Inverness. He has served as a BB officer in Renfreshire and was president of the Perth and District Battalion, while John Forrest has served as captain of the 26th Stirling (Alloa) Company of the Boys' Brigade for over 50 years.

Jim Sweeney, Chief Executive of YouthLink Scotland, said: “Every year my respect increases for the dedication shown by youth work volunteers and staff, who keep their focus on enabling young people to change their lives for the better.”

More information on the Youth Worker of the Year Awards is available from the Youthlink Scotland.