SVQ level 3 Community Fire Safety at SCQF level 7

SVQ level 3 Community Fire Safety at SCQF level 7

The Scottish Vocational Qualification (SVQ) level 3 in Community Fire Safety at SCQF level 7 allows candidates to demonstrate competence in job-related skills in their particular area of work and expertise.

This qualification covers areas such as educating your community to improve awareness of fire and rescue safety matters; delivering practical activities on home fire safety; making sure your own actions reduce risks to health and safety; developing your knowledge, skills and competence; and identifying and analysing data and intelligence to inform community fire safety activities.

This qualification has been designed in partnership/jointly awarded with the Skills for Justice Sector Skills Council to ensure relevance to the sector.

SVQs are based on National Occupational Standards. SQA works in partnership with other organisations to ensure that National Occupational Standards (NOS) are relevant to the current and future needs of Scottish industries.

This qualification is available through the Scottish Fire and Rescue Service, S.F.R.S.

Why deliver this qualification

Successful candidates will gain a recognised qualification that guarantees that they have the skills, knowledge and abilities required to carry out their role successfully.  Employers will also benefit from their employees being proficient.

Assessment is carried out in the workplace. This minimises any time learners would need to be away from their work.

Who does this qualification suit

This SVQ is suitable for individuals who are currently in employment with the Scottish Fire and Rescue Service and who wish to obtain a formal qualification in this area.


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

Candidates should be employed with the Scottish Fire and Rescue Service where they are carrying out relevant tasks and responsibilities which allow them to gather the required evidence.


Centres will have to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

How to assess

For general information on how to assess this qualification, please refer to the document Guidance on how to assess SVQs. For detailed guidance on how to assess this particular SVQ, please refer to the Assessment Strategy.

Where can you take this course?

Qualification content and delivery tools

Information about the qualification(s)

Qualification Structure

Group Award Code: GL3R 23

The SVQ 3 Community Fire Safety at SCQF level 7 consists of 5 mandatory Units and 2 optional Units.

For details of the Units making up the SVQ, please refer to the Qualification Structure document.

National Occupational Standards

Unit information for this qualification is available on our Unit Search.

Core Skills signposting

Core Skill mappings are carried out by the SSC responsible for the development of an SVQ. It is a requirement of SQA Accreditation that every SVQ submission includes information on where possible opportunities for candidates to develop Core Skills exist across the mandatory units.

Centres should note that mappings are not audited or validated against the Core Skills framework/units so are not accepted by SQA awarding body as evidence towards achievement of the Core Skills units.

Information about delivery, assessment, quality assurance and support material

Useful links

mappIT logo Skills Development Scotland Logo