SVQ 4 Managing Courts at SCQF level 9

SVQ 4 Managing Courts at SCQF level 9

The Scottish Vocational Qualification (SVQ 4) in Managing Courts at SCQF level 9 is aimed at sheriff clerks and court managers currently in role, and those aspiring to move into these roles.

It enables candidates to demonstrate competence in job-related skills in their particular area of work and expertise. This qualification includes managing court programmes, managing resources for high-profile or exceptional cases in courts and tribunals, and providing specialist and technical advice and guidance in courts and tribunals. It also covers developing and sustaining productive working relationships with stakeholders, and providing healthy, safe, secure and productive working environments and practices.

The SVQ 4 provides progression from the SVQ 2 and SVQ 3 in Courts Operations.

The SVQ was developed by Skills for Health and Justice at the request of the Scottish Courts and Tribunal Service which identified a gap in their current qualification offering.

SVQs are based on National Occupational Standards (NOS). SQA works in partnership with other organisations to ensure that NOS are relevant to the current and future needs of Scottish industries.

This qualification is available through the Scottish Courts and Tribunal Service.

Why deliver this qualification

Learners will gain an internationally recognised qualification which guarantees that they have the skills, knowledge and abilities required to carry out their role successfully. Employers will also benefit from their employees being proficient.

As assessment is carried out in the workplace this minimises any time learners would need to be away from their work.

Who does this qualification suit

This SVQ is suitable for individuals who are currently in employed as sheriff clerks/court managers who wish to obtain formal recognition of their role.


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

Candidates should be in a job or placement where they are carrying out relevant tasks and responsibilities which allow then to gather the required evidence. 


Centres without devolved authority require to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Note: This is a bespoke qualification developed specifically for the Scottish Courts and Tribunals Service.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

How to assess

For general information on how to assess this qualification, please refer to the document Guidance on how to assess SVQs. For detailed guidance on how to assess this particular SVQ, please refer to the assessment strategy.

Where can you take this course?

Qualification content and delivery tools

Information about the qualification(s)

Qualification Structure

The SVQ 4 Managing Courts at SCQF level 9 consists of five mandatory units and three optional units.

For details of the units making up the SVQ, please refer to the qualification structure.

National Occupational Standards

Unit information for this qualification is available on our Unit Search.

Core Skills signposting

Core Skill mappings are carried out by the SSC responsible for the development of an SVQ. It is a requirement of SQA Accreditation that every SVQ submission includes information on where possible opportunities for candidates to develop Core Skills exist across the mandatory units.

Centres should note that mappings are not audited or validated against the Core Skills framework/units so are not accepted by SQA awarding body as evidence towards achievement of the Core Skills units.

SVQ 4 Managing Courts SCQF 9 CSS (SfH&J) (16 KB)

Information about delivery, assessment, quality assurance and support material

Assessment strategy

Assessment Strategy for Justice (204 KB)

Assessor's guidelines

Candidate Guidance and Portfolio