PDA in Stonemasonry at SCQF level 6

Professional Development Awards (PDAs) extend or broaden professional or vocational skills and are linked to National Occupational Standards. The PDA in  Stonemasonry at SCQF level 6 covers the following specialist skills cutting and shaping mouldings, random rubble walling and preparing and mixing lime mortars.

This qualification may be available through colleges, training providers and some employers. It has been designed to be delivered as a taught course and will normally be available as a combination of workshops and self-directed study.

Why deliver this qualification

The PDA in  Stonemasonry at SCQF level 6 has developed in partnership with employers and industry so it is suitable for the current sector.

It will help employers meet skills gaps and provide continuing professional development for staff, while learners will gain knowledge and skills needed for progression in the workplace.

It can also be offered to people who are in training and who wish to gain employment in the sector.

The Unit-based structure aids timetable flexibility. Units are typically 40 hours of learning and they can be delivered on a full-time or part-time basis.

This PDA provides progression routes to further study (see Progression). 

Who does this qualification suit

The target audience is those in work, or seeking employment, who require a specific skill set.


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.


The Units in the PDA have been designed against the National Occupational Standards for  Stonemasonry.

Learners would have the opportunity of progressing to other PDAs, which could perhaps lead to a full HN qualification or SVQ in  Stonemasonry at level 6.


Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority require to come forward for approval and should contact SQA’s Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA’s general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

How to assess

Each individual Unit specification gives detailed information on the Evidence Requirements and approaches to assessment for each Unit.

Ongoing course assessment will apply.

Each Unit is assessed separately.

Assessment will allow candidates to enhance their own practice. The use of reports and projects is crucial to this.

Training and Assessment Programmes are available for this qualification.

Where can you take this course?

Qualification content and delivery tools


Group Award Specification

Modern Apprenticeship

This PDA is a mandatory component in the Level 6 Modern Apprenticeship.

SQA also offers the following components of this Apprenticeship:

GM80 23 SVQ Stonemasonry at SCQF Level 6

Unit Title





Core Skills: Communication

F425 04

F426 04

F427 04

F428 04

Core Skills: Numeracy

F429 04

F42A 04

F42B 04

F42C 04

Core Skills: Information and Communication Technology

F42D 04

F42E 04

F42F 04

F42G 04

Core Skills: Problem Solving

F42H 04

F42J 04

F42K 04

F42L 04

Core Skills: Working with Others

F42M 04

F42N 04

F42P 04

F42R 04


This Group Award has been replaced and has entered into its lapsing period.

Professional Development Awards at SCQF level 6 GF3P 46 Stonemasonry

The finishing date for this qualification is 28.08.2017

Centres should note that when a Group Award is entered into its lapsing period, the following will apply:

  • the Group Award will be deleted from the relevant catalogue.
  • the Group Award Arrangement document will remain until the qualification reaches its finish date at which point it will be removed from SQA website and archived.
  • no new centres may be approved to offer the Group Award.
  • centres should only enter candidates whom they expect to complete the Group Award during the defined lapsing period of 3 years (HNC) and 4 years (HND).
  • centres should only enter candidates whom they expect to complete the Group Award during the defined lapsing period of 3 years.
  • centres should only enter candidates whom they expect to complete the Group Award during the defined lapsing period of 3 years.

Group Award Specification

Title Code(s) Date Download

PDA Construction Crafts level 6

  • GF3J 46
  • GF3K 46
  • GF69 46
  • GE90 46
  • GF3L 46
  • GF3M 46
  • GF3N 46
  • GF3P 46
  • GF3H 46
  • GG3T 46

August 2012

PDA for Construction Crafts level 6 Arrangements Document (2.12 MB)