SQA Advanced Diploma in Financial Services (Fixed Framework)

SQA Advanced Diploma in Financial Services (Fixed Framework)

The SQA Advanced Diploma in Financial Services develops skills and knowledge that are specific to the UK financial services industry, including product, service and legislative knowledge. The topics covered include: personal financial services, business accounting, economics, financial services regulatory framework, personal and business lending, principles of insurance, pensions provision, and financing international trade.

The SQA Advanced Diploma in Financial Services also provides an understanding of the roles and responsibilities of financial services providers.

SQA Advanced Diploma in Financial Services provides learners with a progression route into employment. It also provides opportunities for further study, including university degree programmes. Typically, an SQA Advanced Diploma takes two years to complete.

Why deliver this qualification

SQA Advanced Diplomas have been developed by SQA in partnership with colleges, universities and industry — so employers recognise that they provide sound evidence of ability.

The unit-based structure supports flexible delivery. A unit is typically 40 hours of timetabled learning.

Who does this qualification suit

is suitable for a wide range of candidates including:

  • school leavers
  • adult returners to education
  • individuals in employment who wish to enhance their career prospects
  • people who wish to start their own business
  • those who wish to pursue a career in financial services or in general business/management


As with all SQA qualifications, entry is decided by the college or learning provider. As a guide, the college or learning provider will look for:

  • school-leaving qualifications equivalent to RQF level 3 or SCQF level 6
  • a centre-devised test which shows the learner’s ability to study at SQA Advanced Diploma level
  • relevant work experience


SQA Advanced Diploma in Financial Services can provide advanced entry to degree-level study or a masters degree programme. For further information please refer to the SQA university agreements

Offer this qualification

Centres that wish to come forward for approval should contact SQA’s Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA’s general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

Centres with devolved authority are eligible to seek approval through their own internal approval process.

How to assess

Each unit specification gives detailed information on the evidence requirements and approaches to assessment for the unit.

Ongoing course assessment will apply.

Qualification structure

Group award code: GM58 48 (240 SCQF credit points)

The SQA Advanced Diploma in Financial Services at SCQF level 8 consists of 23 mandatory units.

Course tutor guide (including course framework)

For further information on the structure and units for this course please refer to the Course Tutor Guide - GM58 48 (1.21 MB)

Unit specifications