SQA Advanced Diploma in Financial and Business Management (Lapsing)

SQA Advanced Diploma in Financial and Business Management (Lapsing)

The SQA Advanced Diploma Financial and Business Management (SCQF level 8) provides current insight and skills in the main aspects of business and accounting.

It offers a range of units across accounting and business areas such as: marketing, economic issues, financial reporting and analysis, business culture and strategy, statistics for business, and research skills.

This qualification is jointly certificated with the International Association of Accounting Professionals (IAAP).

This qualification is available through a growing number of colleges and universities around the world. Typically, an SQA Advanced Diploma takes two years to complete.

Why deliver this qualification

SQA Advanced Diplomas have been developed by SQA in partnership with colleges, universities and industry — so employers recognise that they provide sound evidence of ability.

The SQA Advanced Diploma in Financial and Business Management is based on employer needs, established through a robust consultation and validation process. The qualification therefore provides the skills required by industry and business.

Achievement is certificated and nationally recognised.

The qualification can be tailored to the needs and circumstances of candidates. It can be delivered on a part-time or open-learning basis, and teaching and assessment can be aligned to the learner's job role if appropriate.

The unit-based structure supports flexible delivery. A unit is typically 40 hours of timetabled learning.

Who does this qualification suit

The SQA Advanced Diploma in Financial and Business Management is suitable for a wide range of candidates including:

  • school leavers
  • adult returners to education
  • individuals in employment who wish to enhance their career prospects
  • those who wish to pursue a career in financial or general business/management
  • IAAP students who have successfully completed book-keeping qualifications at SCQF level 6

Entry requirements

As with all SQA qualifications, entry is decided by the centre. As a guide, the learning provider will look for:

  • school-leaving qualifications equivalent to RQF/CQFW level 3/SCQF level 6 — meaning the student has the ability to study at SQA Advanced Diploma level
  • a centre-devised test that shows the student's ability to study at SQA Advanced Diploma level
  • relevant work experience


The SQA Advanced Diploma in Financial and Business Management can provide advanced entry to degree-level study. For further information please refer to the SQA university agreements.

Offer this qualification

Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority require to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

How to assess

Each unit specification gives detailed information on the evidence requirements and approaches to assessment for the unit.

Ongoing course assessment will apply.

Qualification structure

SQA Advanced Diploma in Financial and Business Management

Group award code: GM8R 48 (240 SCQF credit points)

This Group Award has been replaced and has entered into its lapsing period.

The lapsing date for this qualification is 31 July 2017.

The finishing date for this qualification is 31 July 2021.

Centres should note that when a Group Award is entered into its lapsing period, the following will apply:

  • The Group Award will be deleted from the relevant catalogue.
  • The Group Award Arrangement document will remain until the qualification reaches its finish date at which point it will be removed from SQA website and archived.
  • No new centres may be approved to offer the Group Award.
  • Centres should only enter candidates whom they expect to complete the Group Award during the defined lapsing period of 3 years (Certificate) and 4 years (Diploma).

Course tutor guide (including course framework)

For further information on the structure and units for this course please refer to the Course Tutor Guide - GM8R 48 (1.43 MB).

Unit specifications