SQA Advanced Certificate in Engineering Practice

SQA Advanced Certificate in Engineering Practice

The SQA Advanced Certificate in Engineering Practice develops the knowledge and practical skills required to solve engineering problems. Learners gain a range of skills relevant to the needs of advanced engineering craft persons and engineering supervisors. This qualification allows learners a degree of specialism at advanced craft level, and in advanced engineering craft principles and technologies in the following areas: fabrication and welding, engineering manufacture, engineering maintenance or electrical engineering.

This qualification is available through a growing number of colleges, training providers and universities around the world. Typically, an SQA Advanced Certificate takes one year to complete.

Why deliver this qualification

SQA Advanced Certificates have been developed by SQA in partnership with colleges, universities and industry — so employers recognise that they provide sound evidence of ability.

The unit-based structure supports flexible delivery. A unit is typically 40 hours of timetabled learning.

Who does this qualification suit

The SQA Advanced Certificate is suitable for a wide range of learners including:

  • school leavers
  • adult returners to education
  • learners in employment who wish to enhance their career prospects


As with all SQA qualifications, entry is decided by the college, university or learning provider. As a guide, they will look for:

  • one Higher in Physics, Technological Studies or Mathematics and at least three National 5 passes including Mathematics, Physics/Technological Studies and English
  • qualifications comparable to the above, gained through other awarding bodies
  • a centre-devised test which shows the learner's ability to study at SQA Advanced Certificate level
  • relevant work experience


Learners who achieve an SQA Advanced Certificate in Engineering Practice may progress to the SQA Advanced Certificate/Diploma in Electrical Engineering or the SQA Advanced Certificate/Diploma in Mechanical Engineering, then possibly to a related degree level course. For further information please refer to SQA's progression partners.

Offer this qualification

Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority must come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

How to assess

Each unit specification gives detailed information on the evidence requirements and approaches to assessment for the unit.

Ongoing course assessment will apply. 

Qualification structure

SQA Advanced Certificate in Engineering Practice

Group award code: GM9R 47 (96 SCQF credit points)      

For further information on the structure and units of this qualification please refer to the arrangements document. 


Unit specifications