SQA recognises achievements of Scottish Youth Parliament members at awards

David Ross (l), SQA Regional Manager, with 'One to Watch' category winner Sanna Aziz and Gareth Brown, awards host

The Scottish Youth Parliament (SYP) Awards took place on Friday 13 April and SQA was in attendance to help celebrate the achievements of the Parliament’s members and their support workers.

The Awards, which took place at Saltcoats Town Hall, recognise the positive impact that SYP members have on Scotland’s young people. Throughout the past year members have been a voice for Scotland’s youth, ensuring that what is important to them is brought to the attention of decision makers.

SQA sponsored the ‘One to Watch’ category, which shines a light on SYP members whose actions suggest they will continue to make a significant contribution to the Parliament in the coming years.

Announced as the winner of the ‘One to Watch’ category was Sanna Aziz. Sanna, who is the SYP Member for the Scottish Borders, was recognised for her work promoting inclusivity. She is a member of Young Scot’s Fairer Futures Scotland Panel and secured one of only 20 places on the Jo Cox Memorial Exchange to the United States in August 2017, which addressed issues around equality.

David Ross, SQA Regional Manager, presented the award to Sanna. He said: “With 2018 being the Year of Young People it is particularly significant that we celebrate the dedication of SYP members to improving the lives of their peers. SYP members aim to make Scotland the best place in the world to grow up, and the awards are an excellent way to recognise their efforts in achieving this. With rising stars like Sanna emerging, I am confident that the SYP will continue to ensure the voices of Scotland’s young people are heard.”

Well done to all the winners and finalists on their achievements.