HND Facilities Management

HND Facilities Management

Higher National qualifications provide practical skills and theoretical knowledge that meet the needs of employers. The HND Facilities Management (SCQF level 8) builds on the knowledge and skills of the HNC, and covers the knowledge and skills required to work effectively at a management level in the facilities management sector.

This qualification covers areas such as space management, risk management, business continuity, management accounting, information management, managing negotiations, managing relationships with suppliers, and procurement and contracts.

This qualification is available through colleges. Typically, an HNC takes one year to complete and an HND takes two years.

Why deliver this qualification

Higher National qualifications have been developed by SQA in partnership with colleges, universities and industry — so employers recognise that they provide sound evidence of ability.

The unit-based structure supports flexibility. A unit is typically 40 hours of timetabled learning.

There is a wide choice of optional units, which will enable centres to offer courses tailored to meet local needs.

This HN provides progression routes to further study (see Progression).

Who does this qualification suit

The HND Facilities Management is suitable for a wide range of candidates, including:

  • adult returners to education
  • individuals in employment who wish to enhance their career prospects


As with all SQA qualifications, entry is at the discretion of the centre. Examples of formal entry qualifications include:

  • any relevant group award at SCQF level 6
  • any two National Qualifications at SCQF level 6, together with three passes at SCQF level 5 or above
  • an SVQ at SCQF level 7 in a relevant area, eg Facilities Management
  • different combinations of relevant and equivalent qualifications from other awarding bodies
  • relevant work experience — for those without relevant qualifications, centres are encouraged to look at applicants’ work experience

Different combinations of relevant National Qualifications, vocational qualifications and equivalent qualifications from other awarding bodies may also be acceptable.

In addition, learners should possess good communication and analytical skills, along with a desire to attain the professional and personal requirements of an operational or senior manager. For learners whose first language is not English, it is recommended that they possess English for Speakers of other Languages (ESOL) level 5, or a score of 5.5 in International English Language Testing System (IELTS).


HNCs and HNDs can provide progression to degree-level study. For example, the HNC in Facilities Management allows direct entry into the second year of most degree programmes, and the HND in Facilities Management allows direct entry to most third year programmes.

Higher National qualifications also provide the knowledge and understanding required for related Scottish Vocational Qualifications (SVQs). For example, SVQ Facilities Management at SCQF Level 7.


Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority are required to come forward for approval and should contact SQA’s Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA’s general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

How to assess

Each individual Unit specification gives detailed information on the evidence requirements and approaches to assessment for each unit.

Ongoing course assessment will apply.

Where can you take this course?

Qualification Structure

Group Award code: GP05 16 (240 SCQF credit points)

HND Facilities Management at SCQF level 8 consists of 25 mandatory Units (200 SCQF credit points), and a number of optional Units (40 SCQF points).

Group Award Specification