SQA ESOL qualifications benchmarked by UK NARIC

SQA’s English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) qualifications have been recognised as corresponding to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR). The CEFR is a standard framework of reference used across Europe, and in other continents, to identify the different levels of language qualifications. The framework spans six levels – from A1 (basic user) to C2 (proficient user).

Following an extensive review of our ESOL qualifications, UK NARIC – the UK’s designated national agency for recognising and comparing international qualifications and skills – confirmed the CEFR level of each qualification:

National 2 ESOL

A1 (basic user)

National 3 ESOL

A2 (basic user)

National 4 ESOL

B1 (independent user)

National 5 ESOL

B2 (independent user)

Higher ESOL

C1 (proficient user)

SQA’s ESOL qualifications enable candidates (whose first language is not English) to develop their reading, writing, listening and speaking skills in the English language. These skills are essential for candidates who plan to live, study and/or work in the UK.

This is the first time the qualifications have received formal recognition for corresponding to the levels of the CEFR framework. SQA previously used the framework as a benchmark when developing the qualifications.

Robert Quinn, Head of English, Languages and Business, said, ‘SQA’s framework of ESOL qualifications plays a vital part in developing and recognising the English language skills of learners.

‘By engaging in these qualifications, learners can begin to access the wider curriculum and participate in their local and national communities. They can also progress to – and be successful in – both employment and further study.

‘The confirmation of this benchmarking by UK NARIC will enhance the confidence of schools, colleges, universities and employers in the value of the skills learners have gained through SQA ESOL qualifications.’

Find out more about SQA’s ESOL qualifications.