Close and go back to newsletter

SQA News 30 January 2020

New Digital Literacy units

SQA has developed a suite of new Digital Literacy units at SCQF levels 2 to 6. The new units build learners' confidence in using digital devices, software applications and tools by equipping them with the essential digital literacy skills needed for everyday life, learning and the workplace.

Learners will develop practical skills that enable them to produce and share content using digital technologies. They will also develop knowledge and understanding of cyber security, cyber resilience and responsible behaviours when communicating and working with others online.

The new units also allow learners to achieve a range of embedded Core Skills including Information and Communication Technology (ICT). Learners who achieve a Digital Literacy unit will automatically achieve the embedded Core Skills, which will be recognised on their qualifications certificate.

The table shows the embedded Core Skills at each level:

Unit title

SCQF level

Credit points

Unit code

Embedded Core Skills

Digital Literacy



J3H6 42

  • ICT at SCQF level 2

Digital Literacy



J3H6 43

  • ICT at SCQF level 3
  • Working with Others at SCQF level 3

Digital Literacy



J3H6 44

  • ICT at SCQF level 4
  • Working with Others at SCQF level 4

Digital Literacy



J3H6 45

  • ICT at SCQF level 5
  • Working with Others at SCQF level 5
  • Problem Solving at SCQF level 5

Digital Literacy



J3H6 46

  • ICT at SCQF level 6
  • Working with Others at SCQF level 6
  • Problem Solving at SCQF level 6

Download the unit specifications

The new units are now available for delivery and you can download the specifications from our website:

You can also find them using our online unit search.

Online unit assessments are currently in development and will be available from SQA SOLAR in May 2020.

More information

If you are interested in teaching the new Digital Literacy Units, and would like more information, please contact