Close and go back to newsletter

SQA News 4 March 2021

Assessment of National 4 added value units in session 2020-21

SQA has been reviewing its approach to assessment of National 4 courses. This is in response to feedback from teachers and lecturers and to support schools, colleges, and training providers to manage assessment where it has been impacted by both disruption to learning and the ongoing restrictions associated with COVID-19.

We have decided that candidates will not be required to complete National 4 added value units in session 2020-21. This decision is supported by the National Qualifications 2021 Group*. Removing the mandatory requirement to complete the added value unit will help to free up more time for learning and teaching and for assessing other units in National 4 courses, where this is needed.

Entering results for National 4 courses in session 2020-21

To achieve the overall course award for National 4 this session, learners must pass all other contributing units in the National 4 course. You will still need to submit a 'pass' result for the added value unit to ensure your learners are certificated for the course award, however this does not need to be evidence-based.

While you are not required to gather evidence for the added value unit this session, it is still important that your learners have opportunities to develop and demonstrate the required skills, knowledge and understanding from across the course that are outlined in the National 4 added value unit specification, where possible. This will support your learners as they progress to further learning and assessment at SCQF level 5.

*The National Qualifications 2021 Group is represented by the Association of Directors of Education in Scotland (ADES), Colleges Scotland, Education Scotland, the Educational Institute of Scotland (EIS), School Leaders Scotland (SLS), the Scottish Council of Independent Schools (SCIS), Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA), the Scottish Government, National Parent Forum of Scotland, and the Scottish Youth Parliament.