NextGen: HNC Computing

The purpose of the qualification

To develop a broad range of technical competencies in computing, providing a foundation for progression to further studies or employment. There will be specific focus on progression to Higher National Diplomas in related fields.

Learners will gain a range of practical skills in computing, together with the underpinning knowledge. Because of the rate of change in the industry, a key objective is to ensure learners under-stand underlying concepts and principles that can be applied to a range of current and emerging tech-nologies.

It will also develop learners' meta-skills.

Sector/industry-specific skills



Social intelligence


What will be different?

Current HNC

  • 12 credits
  • Small units
  • 6 mandatory units
  • 30 optional units
  • Open options
  • Graded unit (A/B/C)
  • Core skills

NextGen HNC

  • 15 credits
  • Large units
  • 2 mandatory units
  • 13 optional units
  • Thematic options
  • Inclusion of PDAs
  • Graded qualification (Pass/Merit/Distinction)
  • Meta-skills
  • Reduced assessment
  • Up-to-date content
  • More time to teach and learn
  • Project- and problem-based learning