Systems verification

Systems verification is the process by which SQA ensures centres delivering Higher National and vocational qualifications are managing their systems and resources to meet our quality assurance criteria.

There are specific quality assurance criteria that relate to systems: Systems Quality Assurance Criteria (154 KB)

The criteria are grouped into six categories:

  1. Management of a Centre
  2. Resources
  3. Candidate Support
  4. Internal Assessment and Verification
  5. External Assessment
  6. Data Management

If you have recently been approved as an SQA centre, you will have experience of providing documentary evidence against the above criteria. For systems verification you will also need to provide evidence of the implementation of policies and procedures on an ongoing basis.

The SQA staff responsible for carrying out systems verification are our Quality Enhancement Managers (QEMs) and Systems Verifiers (SVs).

Further information on the process of systems verification and the requirements of the quality assurance criteria is available in our Guide to Systems Verification for Centres 2015–18 (634 KB).