SQA Advisory Council

The Advisory Council's primary role is to consider and advise SQA on the needs and views of our stakeholders in relation to our qualifications and awards. This advice helps us to develop, maintain and deliver our portfolio.

Advisory Council Members

Dr Paul Thomson Dr Paul Thomson

Roger Stewart Mr Roger Stewart
(Deputy Convenor)

Andy Wright

Andy Wright
Assistant Principal, Dumfries and Galloway College

Hugh McCafferty Hugh McCafferty
Regional Delivery Manager, ConstructionSkills 

Grant Ritchie Grant Ritchie
Depute Principal, Dundee College

Alan Dick Alan Dick
Head Teacher, Port Glasgow High School

Lorna Trainer Lorna Trainer
Director, L&G Learning (Scotland) Ltd

John Oates John Oates
Manager, BRAG Enterprises Ltd

Jenny Rees Jenny Rees

Helen Martin

Helen Martin, Assistant Secretary, STUC

John Edwards

John Edward, Director of SCIS

Maureen McKenna

Maureen McKenna, Executive Director of Education, Glasgow City Council

Sylvia Halkerston

Sylvia Halkerston, Consultant


Gordon McGuiness

Gordon McGuiness, Head of Industry & Enterprise Networks, Skills Development Scotland

Eric Lumsden

Eric Lumsden, Member (West Lothian representative), National Parent Forum

Eileen Prior

Eileen Prior, Executive Director, SPTC

Helen Gray

Helen Gray, Headteacher, Menzieshill High School, Dundee