Mental Health and Wellbeing Award SCQF level 4 and 5

The Awards in Mental Health and Wellbeing at SCQF levels 4 and 5 aim to

  • reduce stigma surrounding mental health
  • arm young people with healthy coping strategies
  • promote knowledge of the impact of mental health on behaviour
  • dispel myths surrounding mental health
  • promote understanding of positive and negative impacts on mental health
  • help individuals to make the right choices
  • promote understanding of the potential uses and impact of social media and the internet
  • create resilience

The qualification is available through schools, colleges and training providers.

Mental Health and Wellbeing Awards blog

Keep up to date with the latest developments in Mental Health and Wellbeing.

Half of mental health problems in adulthood begin before the age of 14, and by the time they are 16 roughly three children in every class will experience a mental health problem. When it comes to finding help for mental health only a quarter of young people know where to go.

In addition, the stigma attached to mental health frequently can stop individuals from seeking help because they feel embarrassed or are fearful of being judged.

These qualifications therefore aim to address gaps in knowledge and to improve understanding of mental health questions.

These Awards in Mental Health and Wellbeing support the Scottish Government's Mental Health Strategy 2017-2027. Its guiding ambition for mental health is simple but, if realised, will change and save lives:

'We must prevent and treat mental health problems with the same commitment, passion and drive as we do with physical health problems.'


These Awards can be offered in the following modes:

  • full-time
  • part-time (eg day-release)
  • open and distance learning
  • infill into existing classes
  • evening provision

The Awards are suitable for:

  • learners who are at school or who may have just left school
  • mature candidates who may have been out of education for a long period of time
  • individuals who are currently in employment and wish to obtain a formal qualification
  • learners who want to study at a pace and style that they determine
  • employees who want to improve their knowledge and understanding of mental health and wellbeing
  • individuals who are seeking national recognition of their achievements
  • employers who wish their employees to take part in short, continuing professional development courses


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.


The level 5 award could provide progression to:

  • SCQF level 6 / QCF level 3 qualifications
  • an NC in Health and Social Care
  • an SVQ 2/Modern Apprenticeship in Social Services and Healthcare
  • employment in the care sector

These Awards provide opportunities to develop:

  • Core Skills (which underpin all National Certificates)
  • transferable skills

Award Mental Health and Wellbeing SCQF level 4

Group Award code: GP2T 44

The Award Mental Health and Wellbeing SCQF level 4 consists of 3 mandatory units (18 SCQF credit points).

Award Mental Health and Wellbeing SCQF level 5

Group Award code: GP2V 45

The Award Mental Health and Wellbeing SCQF level 5 consists of 3 mandatory units (18 SCQF credit points).

Group Award code: GP2V 45 (306 KB) (18 SCQF credit points)

The Award in Mental Health and Wellbeing at SCQF level 5 consists of 3 mandatory Units (18 SCQF credit points).

The SOLAR assessment for 'Influences on Mental Health and Wellbeing' unit at Level 4 is now available on the SOLAR website. Assessments for the other two units at Level 4 will be available in the near future.