Diploma Digital Technology: Cyber Security SCQF level 6

The Diploma in Digital Technology: Cyber Security at SCQF level 6 provides learners with a qualification that will demonstrate their aptitude in this area. This diploma will develop the learner’s confidence and awareness of the skills that they have acquired which they can use for employment and/or further study.

This qualification covers areas such as applying problem solving approaches, producing documentation to support organisational process delivery, defining requirements to support project delivery, developing meta-skills and personal practice, supporting cyber security governance, contributing to the implementation of cyber security controls​, contributing to cyber security risk assessment and management, contributing to cyber security awareness programmes, contributing to network vulnerability analysis, and supporting cyber security incident response and management.

This qualification is available through employers, colleges, and training providers.

Why deliver this qualification

This diploma enables learners to demonstrate both knowledge and skills in a digital vocational area. 

This qualification is based on the current version of Work Situations defined by Skills Development Scotland. 

Candidates can progress to a range of courses at a higher level, allowing centres to retain or build student numbers. 

The diploma can be offered within a workplace environment and training centres or colleges. The evidence demonstrating achievement of the qualification can be assessed within a workplace environment or, where simulation is used, within a realistic working environment.

Who does this qualification suit

This diploma is suitable for:

  • learners who have just left school
  • mature candidates who may have been out of education for some time
  • individuals who are currently in employment and who wish to obtain a formal qualification
  • people who wish to start their own business
  • employers who want their employees to undertake short continuing professional development courses


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

No prior qualifications or knowledge are required to undertake this qualification.


The level 6 award could provide progression to:

  • an HNC/HND in Computing or a related area
  • the Diploma in Digital Technology at SCQF Level 8
  • a PDA in a computing related discipline
  • degree level study at a higher education institution
  • employment in the digital sector


Centres without devolved authority are required to come forward for approval and should contact SQA’s Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA’s general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide. The specific delivery requirements are set out in the assessment strategy.

How to assess

Assessment of this award will normally be through workplace activities, although simulation may be used in specific component units. Normally, candidates will be required to maintain a portfolio of workplace evidence, produced through routine work activities. Knowledge will be assessed where appropriate. Some assessments will be carried out under supervised open-book conditions, others under supervised closed-book conditions.

Where can you take this course?

Qualification content and delivery tools

Information about the qualification(s)

Qualification Structure

Group award code: GV2F 46

The Diploma in Digital Technology: Cyber Security at SCQF level 6 consists of 8 mandatory units and 2 optional units. Please refer to the Qualification Structure (224 KB) for details of the units making up this qualification.

National Occupational Standards

Unit information for this qualification is available on our Unit Search.

Information about delivery, assessment, quality assurance and support material