Award Mental Health and Wellbeing SCQF level 6

The Award in Mental Health and Wellbeing at SCQF level 6 aims to:

  • reduce stigma surrounding mental health
  • create resilience by giving young people healthy-coping strategies
  • raise awareness of the impact of mental health on behaviour
  • dispel myths surrounding mental health
  • promote understanding of experiences and behaviours that can affect mental health
  • help individuals to make the right choices
  • understand the impact of social media and the internet on mental health and wellbeing

This Award is available through schools, colleges and training providers. 

Half of mental health problems in adulthood begin before the age of 14, and by the time they are 16 roughly three children in every class will experience a mental health problem. When it comes to finding help for mental health only a quarter of young people know where to go.

In addition, the stigma attached to mental health frequently can stop individuals from seeking help because they feel embarrassed or are fearful of being judged.

This qualification therefore aims to address gaps in knowledge and to improve understanding of mental health.

The Awards in Mental Health and Wellbeing support the Scottish Government's Mental Health Strategy 2017-27. Its guiding ambition for mental health is simple but, if realised, will change and save lives:

'We must prevent and treat mental health problems with the same commitment, passion and drive as we do with physical health problems.'


This Award can be offered in the following modes:

  • full-time
  • part-time (for example, day-release)
  • open and distance learning
  • infill into existing classes
  • evening provision

This Award is suitable for:

  • learners who are at school or who may have just left school
  • mature candidates who may have been out of education for a long period of time
  • individuals who are currently in employment and wish to obtain a formal qualification
  • learners who want to study at a pace and style that they determine
  • employees who want to improve their knowledge and understanding of mental health and wellbeing
  • individuals who are seeking national recognition of their achievements
  • employers who wish their employees to take part in short, continuing professional development courses


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

The level 6 award could provide progression to:

  • SCQF level 7
  • an HNC in Health and Social Care
  • employment in the care sector

This Award provides opportunities to develop:

  • Core Skills (which underpin all National Certificates)
  • transferable skills

Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA’s general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

Those delivering the qualification are required to have a relevant qualification in Mental Health and Wellbeing or Psychology at SCQF Level 7 or at least 2 years experience of delivering the MHW award at SCQF Level 5. It is also recommended that those delivering have experience of working within the sector.

Each unit specification gives detailed information on the evidence requirements and approaches to assessment for each unit.


Group award code: GV2V 46

The Award in Mental Health and Wellbeing at SCQF level 6 consists of four mandatory units (24 SCQF credit points).

For details of the units making up the Mental Health and Wellbeing Award, please refer to the qualification structure.