Technical Worker

The Technical Sector provides a wide range of services to Building and Civil Engineering, Highways Maintenance, Built Environment and Design and Contracting Operations including Buyers, Surveyors, Estimators and Site Technicians and Site Supervisors.

SQA provides a number of qualifications within this sector which can be completed as stand alone qualifications or as part of an apprenticeship programme.



For more information about qualifications in the construction sector, please follow the link. Choose between SCQF or QCF levels to see all the SQA qualifications in construction.

Qualification Support Teams (QSTs)

Qualification Support Teams (QSTs) are practitioner driven with a focus on addressing current 'live' issues. The QST will monitor, evaluate, address and communicate issues arising from the delivery, assessment and moderation of any relevant group award (including practitioner comment on specific Units raised in letters, e-mails, Unit comment forms, etc).

SQA would encourage the use of the comment/feedback form  (45 KB) for any comments and/or feedback on any construction awards. This feedback will be considered by SQA officers, External Verifiers and/or the relevant QST, as appropriate.

If you wish to be considered for future QST membership or wish the QST to discuss a particular issue, please e-mail or send a feedback/comments form to

Construction Technician QST

This QST covers all Construction Technician qualifications including NCs, HNC/HNDs and SVQs.


The Chartered Institute of Building             

The Chartered Institute of Building is the professional body for construction management and leadership. Members work worldwide in the development, conservation and improvement of the built environment through the highest levels of competence and professionalism, whilst providing assurance to clients and other professionals procuring built assets.

The Chartered Institute of Architectural Technologists

The Chartered Institute of Architectural Technologists (CIAT) is the lead qualifying body for Architectural Technology and represents those practising and studying within the discipline. CIAT qualifies Chartered Architectural Technologists, MCIAT, and professionally qualified Architectural Technicians, TCIAT.

Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE) 

The Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE) strives to promote and progress civil engineering. ICE promote the civil engineering profession by ensuring that everyone understands the positive impact that civil engineers have on society ICE represents around 80,000 members worldwide.

Related Links

Construction Skills logo

Construction Skills Certification Scheme logo