Customer Service Award SCQF level 5

The Award in Customer Service at SCQF level 5 will develop skills, knowledge and understanding essential for providing professional customer service.

This Award develops good communication and effective listening skills, enabling learners to provide customers with appropriate information to meet their needs. They will also learn to adapt responses to different customer behaviours and to create a positive impression of themselves and the organisation they are working for.

This qualification is available through training providers, colleges or employer organisations.

Why deliver this qualification

Customer service impacts on all occupational sectors. People working in, for example, hotels, retail outlets, travel organisations, hairdressing, sports centres, local authorities or voluntary organisations all need effective customer service skills and knowledge. 

Customer service is of key importance to organisations, so this Award has a wide potential market.

The Award is made up of one mandatory Unit and a choice of optional Units which will enable centres to offer courses tailored to meet local needs.

The Award can be used to offer a progression pathway to other customer service and/or business qualifications (see Progression). 

Who does this qualification suit

The Award in Customer Service at SCQF level 5 is suitable for people employed in a customer service role who wish to enhance their career prospects.


Entry to this qualification is at the discretion of the centre.

The Award is made up of SVQ Units and therefore anyone undertaking the Award must be in a position which will allow them to generate the appropriate work-based evidence to meet the requirements of the Units.  This could be full-time, part-time or voluntary work.


Learners who achieve this Award can progress to the full SVQ 2 in Customer Service at SCQF level 5 or the National Certificate in Business at SCQF level 5.


Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority will have to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet the requirements of the Assessment Strategy for this Award and SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

How to assess

This Award consists of one mandatory Unit and seven optional Units from which candidates select one Unit. The Units are SVQ Units and therefore the evidence to meet the Unit specifications must be generated from actual work. 

Predominantly, delivery and assessment in centres will be based on observation of the candidates and what they produce at work, and questioning to cover the knowledge aspects of the Award.  

Where can you take this course?

Qualification content and delivery tools

Information about the qualification(s)

Qualification Structure

Group Award code: GP8V 45.

The Award in Customer Service at SCQF level 5 consists of one mandatory Unit (5 SCQF credit points) and one optional Unit (between 3 and 6 SCQF credits).

National Occupational Standards

Unit information for this qualification is available on our Unit Search.

Group Award Specification

Information about delivery, assessment, quality assurance and support material

Candidate Guidance and Portfolio