Diploma Digital Technology: Software Development SCQF level 8

The Diploma in Digital Technology: Software Development at SCQF level 8 provides learners with a qualification that will demonstrate their aptitude in this area. This Diploma will develop skills that they have acquired which they can use for employment and/or further study.

This qualification covers areas such as supporting digital business transformation, applying methods and principles in project management, developing meta-skills and personal professionalism, implementing software methodology, designing software, developing software, providing software testing and assurance, and providing user and software documentation.

This qualification is available through employers, colleges and training providers.

Why deliver this qualification

This Diploma enables the learner to demonstrate knowledge in a digital vocational area.

This qualification is based on the current version of Work Situations defined by Skills Development Scotland.

Candidates can progress to a range of courses at a higher level, allowing centres to retain or build student numbers.

The Diploma can be offered within a workplace environment and training centres or colleges. The evidence demonstrating achievement of the qualification can be assessed within a workplace environment or, where simulation is used, within a realistic working environment.

Who does this qualification suit

This Diploma is suitable for:

  • learners who have just left school
  • mature candidates who may have been out of education for some time
  • individuals who are currently in employment and who wish to obtain a formal qualification
  • people who wish to start their own business
  • employers who want their employees to undertake short, continuing professional development courses


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

No prior qualifications or knowledge are required to undertake this qualification. However, it would be beneficial if candidates possessed qualifications at SCQF level 6 or higher.


The level 8 award could provide progression to:

  • an HNC/HND in Computing or a related area
  • a PDA in a computing-related discipline
  • degree-level study at a higher education institution
  • employment in the digital sector


Centres without devolved authority are required to come forward for approval and should contact SQA’s Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA’s general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide. The specific delivery requirements are set out in the assessment strategy.

How to assess

Assessment of this award will normally be through workplace activities, although simulation may be used in specific component units. Normally, candidates will be required to maintain a portfolio of workplace evidence, produced through routine work activities. Knowledge will be assessed where appropriate. Some assessments will be carried out under supervised open-book conditions, others under supervised closed-book conditions.

Where can you take this course?

Qualification content and delivery tools

Information about the qualification(s)

Qualification Structure

Group award code: GT91 48

The Diploma in Digital Technology: Software Development at SCQF level 8 consists of eight mandatory units. Please refer to the Qualification Structure (44 KB) for details of the units making up this qualification.

National Occupational Standards

Unit information for this qualification is available on our Unit Search.

Information about delivery, assessment, quality assurance and support material