Modern Languages for Life and Work Award SCQF level 7

The Modern Languages for Life and Work Award is designed to equip learners with the knowledge and skills (including Core Skills) required for further study or to gain employment.

The Modern Languages for Life and Work Award at SCQF level 7 will develop knowledge and skills in areas such as society, culture and employability. Learners can specialise in one or two modern languages.

This Award meets the principles of Curriculum for Excellence.

This qualification covers areas such as communication, self-awareness, confidence, leadership and independent learning.

Modern Languages for Life and Work is widely available through schools, colleges, community organisations and volunteer-involving organisations (VIOs).

This Award has a wide potential market. It is open to all learners, regardless of age, academic experience or ability.

Centres have the flexibility to choose the delivery method which best suits their circumstances and their learners.

The Award can be used to offer a progression pathway to other qualifications (see Progression).

Modern Languages for Life and Work is a trusted qualification, having been developed by practitioners with the support of schools, colleges and the sector skills councils.

The Award in Modern Languages for Life and Work is straightforward to deliver and slots readily into school and college timetables.

It can be offered in any of the following modes:

  • full-time
  • part-time (for example, day-release) 
  • infill into existing classes 
  • evening provision
  • January start

Modern Languages for Life and Work has e-assessment options, improving flexibility and saving time and cost.

Successful completion of this qualification would enable a candidate to progress to a Modern Languages Course or to employment. Once in employment, many continue to study languages as part of continuing professional development.

Modern Languages for Life and Work at SCQF level 7 includes opportunities for learners to develop Core Skills.

The achievement of other Awards can contribute towards the successful completion of this Award.

This qualification is suitable for a wide range of candidates, including:

  • S4–S6 pupils
  • school leavers
  • college students
  • adult returners to education
  • trainees preparing for employment
  • learners looking to progress to an HNC or HND
  • migrants to the UK
  • candidates whose first language is not English
  • candidates in employment who wish to enhance their career prospects 
  • employers who wish their employees to take part in short, continuing professional development courses 
  • individuals who wish to start their own business
  • candidates who are seeking national recognition of their achievements
  • learners who want to study at a pace and style that they determine 


Entry is at the discretion of the centre. 

It can be accessed by learners from S4 to S6, or learners in FE or other vocational centres.

No prior qualifications are required to undertake this qualification, although the Award provides opportunities for learners to build on prior learning; experience in a broad general education or knowledge of a Modern Language qualification at a lower SCQF level would be an advantage.

The Award in Modern Languages for Life and Work may provide progression opportunities to: 

  • Modern Languages for Life and Work Award at SCQF level 7 in one or two other modern languages 
  • Modern Languages Courses at SCQF level 7
  • Modern Languages for Work Purposes Units in another modern language at SCQF level 7
  • Modern Languages for Life units in another language at SCQF level 7
  • National Certificates 
  • an HNC or HND in Languages or related areas
  • degree level study at a higher education institution
  • employment in the Modern Languages sector, perhaps as an interpreter or translator

Schools will be auto-approved to deliver.

Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority must come forward for approval and should contact SQA’s Business Development Team for guidance. 

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA’s general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

Each individual unit specification gives detailed information on the evidence requirements and approaches to assessment for each unit.

Group award code: GV16 47

The Award in Modern Languages for Life and Work at SCQF level 7 consists of three mandatory units (24 SCQF credit points).

Learners require 3 SQA credits (24 SCQF points) in total to achieve the Modern Languages for Life and Work Award. 

Unit title SQA credit SCQF credit points SCQF level
Modern Languages for Life 1 8 7
Modern Languages for Work Purposes 1 8 7
Personal Enterprise Skills 1 8 7

For details of the units making up the Award, please refer to the qualification structure.

Unit information for this qualification is available through our Accredited Qualification Unit Search.

  • Group Award Specification GV1647 (345 KB)

Webinar Event 23 February 2023

Webinar presentation (1.39 MB)