Adult Learning in Scotland: an Introduction SCQF level 6

Professional Development Awards (PDAs) extend or broaden professional or vocational skills and are linked to National Occupational Standards. The PDA in Adult Learning in Scotland: an Introduction at SCQF level 6 introduces learners to the policy contexts, theories, and methods that support the effective planning and delivery of learning sessions.

This qualification covers areas such as planning, delivering and evaluating adult learning sessions with individuals and groups.

The units in the PDA have been written to align with the Community Learning and Development Standards Council for Scotland (CLDSC) ethics and competencies which inform the practice of all community workers.

This qualification is available through colleges, training providers and some employers. It has been designed to be delivered as a taught course and will normally be available as a combination of workshops and self-directed study.

The PDA in Adult Learning in Scotland: an Introduction at SCQF level 6 has been developed in partnership with employers and industry so it is suitable for the current sector.

It will help employers meet skills gaps and provide continuing professional development for staff, while learners will gain knowledge and skills needed for progression in the workplace.

It can also be offered to people who are in training and who wish to gain employment in the adult learning sector. This PDA provides progression routes to further study (see Progression).

The target audience is those in work, or seeking employment, who require a specific skill set.


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

No formal qualifications are required. Centres may devise an appropriate recruitment process. Communications skills at SCQF level 6 or equivalent are recommended and an interest in working with people to develop their learning would be advantageous.

Those who successfully achieve this PDA may explore the possibility of continuing their learning through a range of related qualifications. Entry to these qualifications is at the discretion of the centre.

Programme title SCQF level
PDA in Family Learning 8
SVQ in Learning and Development 8
PDA in Tutoring Adult Literacies 8
PDA in Trade Union Organising for Lifelong Learning 7
Higher National Certificate in Working with Communities 7
National Certificate in Working with Communities 6
PDA in Introduction to Tutoring English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL) 6
PDA in Supporting Adult Literacies Learning 6

Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority must come forward for approval and should contact SQA’s Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA’s general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide (490 KB).

Each unit specification gives detailed information on the evidence requirements and approaches to assessment for the unit.

Each unit is assessed separately.

Assessment will allow candidates to enhance their own practice. The use of evaluation and reflective practice is crucial to this.

Group award code:GV3H 46 (20 SCQF credit points)

The PDA in Adult Learning in Scotland: an Introduction consists of 2 mandatory units.

Unit title SQA credit SCQF credit points SCQF level
Adult Learning in Scotland: Context 1 8 6
Adult Learning in Scotland: Methodology and Practice 1.5 12 6