PDA Training and Development for Delivery to Groups SCQF level 7

PDA Training and Development for Delivery to Groups SCQF level 7

Professional Development Awards (PDAs) extend or broaden professional or vocational skills and are linked to National Occupational Standards.

The PDA: Training and Development for Delivery to Groups at SCQF level 7 covers the high-level transferable skills required by those who design and deliver training. These include reflecting on, developing and maintaining own skills in training and development; planning, design and delivery of training to groups; and assessing learning and evaluating training.

This qualification is available through colleges, training providers and some employers. It has been designed to be delivered as a taught course and will normally be available as a combination of workshops and self-directed study.

Alternative assessment guidance 2021-22

For guidance on which approach suits your current circumstances please use the HNVQ assessment decision tree.

Why deliver this qualification

The PDA: Training and Development for Delivery to Groups at SCQF level 7 has been developed in partnership with employers and industry.

It will help employers meet skills gaps and provide continuing professional development for staff, while learners will gain knowledge and skills needed for progression in the workplace.

It can also be offered to people who are in training and who wish to gain employment in the sector.

The Unit-based structure aids timetable flexibility. The Group Award comprises one single-credit Unit, typically 40 hours of learning and two double-credit Units and can be delivered on a full-time or part-time basis.

This PDA provides progression routes to further study (see Progression).

Who does this qualification suit

The target audience is those in work, or seeking employment, who require a specific skill set in training and development.


Entry is at the discretion of the centre.

Learners do not need to have formal relevant qualifications to enter this PDA. Good communication skills, both oral and written, are required. This may be demonstrated by relevant qualifications at SCQF level 5 or above, or IELTS level 6 for those trainer-candidates for whom English is not their first language.

Learners will, however, need to be knowledgeable and experienced in the subject area(s) in which they plan to deliver training and have the desire to develop their delivery skills and knowledge.


The Units in the PDA have been signposted to the National Occupational Standards for Learning and Development.

Learners would have the opportunity of progressing to other PDAs, which could perhaps lead to a full HN qualification or SVQ in Learning and Development at Level 3.


Centres with devolved authority for approval should use their own internal approval process.

Centres without devolved authority will have to come forward for approval and should contact SQA's Business Development Team for guidance.

Assessors and verifiers must be able to meet SQA's general requirements for technical/occupational competence as outlined in the Systems and Qualification Approval Guide.

How to assess

Each individual Unit specification gives detailed information on the Evidence Requirements and approaches to assessment for each Unit.

Ongoing course assessment will apply. Each Unit is assessed separately.

Assessment will allow candidates to enhance their own practice. The use of reports and projects is crucial to this.

Where can you take this course?

Qualification content and delivery tools


Qualification Structure

Group Award code: GL1647

The PDA in Training and Delivery for Delivery to Groups at SCQF level 7 consists of three mandatory Units.

Group Award Specification


Qualification Structure

PDA in Training and Development

Group Award code: G7V1 16 (48 SCQF credit points)

SCQF level: 7

The PDA consists of five Units, four mandatory Units and one of two optional Units.

Mandatory Units

  • Learning and Development: Identifying Learning Needs ¿ DN3G 34
  • Learning and Development: Planning, Design and Delivery of Learning ¿ DN3N 34
  • Learning and Development: Evaluating Learning ¿ DN3D 34
  • Learning and Development: Evaluating Own Practice and Planning for Self Development ¿ DN3E 34

This Group Award has been replaced and has entered into its lapsing period.

The finishing date for this qualification is 31/07/2017.

Centres should note that when a Group Award is entered into its lapsing period, the following will apply:

  • the Group Award will be deleted from the relevant catalogue
  • the Group Award Arrangement document will remain until the qualification reaches its finish date at which point it will be removed from SQA website and archived
  • no new centres may be approved to offer the Group Award
  • centres should only enter candidates whom they expect to complete the Group Award during the defined lapsing period of 3 years (HNC) and 4 years (HND)

Group Award Specification

Other Information

For candidates where English is not their first language it is recommended that they possess English for Speakers of other Languages (ESOL) level 5 or a score of 5.5 in IELTS.

Related links